Today Pecan Pie… Tomorrow the World!

30 Dec

One would think starting a blog at the first of the year would make more sense than at the end of the year. However, starting one today gives me a chance to accomplish something good in 2011, a year that has been fraught with life-changing experiences. I can only hope 2012 bodes much better for my family.

With that being said, welcome to my foodie blog! Yes, I’ll just be one of millions out there in this cyber world many of us call home, but this will give me a chance to combine two passions I enjoy — writing and cooking! Actually, I have other passions — including book collecting and owl watching — but somehow I don’t think I could combine all those into a blog that would make much sense to the standard blog reader.

Over the past year I have been posting pictures and recipes of culinary delights (and disasters!) in one of my owl-watching discussion boards. Unfortunately, the owls are not present year round to watch, so in our down time in between clutches, we all start sharing recipes, vacations, natural disasters and the like between us.  The light bulb went off in my head last night that I’ve accumulated quite the portfolio of mouth-watering dishes in my pictures folder, and what better way to share them than on a blog? Nearly all my kitchen escapades have a story behind them.  Some have tales of delight and hilarity to go with them, others are just what I happened to make for dinner that night and felt like snapping a photo.

Now, I just need to decide what my first actual foodie blog will be about… I’m thinking pecan pie. Or maybe bacon. Stay tuned..

5 Responses to “Today Pecan Pie… Tomorrow the World!”

  1. Mary Pat Hyland December 30, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    Congratulations! Can’t wait to read your new blog and get some fresh recipes for work!
    Have any suggestions for big fish? ;^)

    Like

  2. anotherfoodieblogger December 30, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    Thank you Mary Pat! As a matter of fact, I do have some big fish recipes… 😉

    Like

  3. Joe Omelchuck December 30, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    Is that bacon in that grilled cheese? Yum.

    Like

  4. Pat Adams December 31, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    Best Of Luck, Kathryn….very happy you are passionate about food and owls!

    Like

  5. anotherfoodieblogger December 30, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    Reblogged this on anotherfoodieblogger and commented:

    Happy 2nd Anniversary anotherfoodieblogger! I can’t believe it has been two years since I started on this journey. I give many thanks to my friends and family who have supported me with this venture. (OK and particularly my husband and daughter who have had to wait patiently for their dinner while I take photographs.) Cheers to another great year of food and adventures!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

