Skillet Cornbread…the only way!

2 Jan

Skillet Cornbread...special thanks to Colleen for the photo update!

I live in the Pacific Northwest but all I’ve been providing are recipes about Southern food. Be patient, that will change. Oregon has a wonderful bounty of local foods I’ll be sharing soon, along with some very colorful stories! But since the holidays revolve so much around food we grew up with, I just happen to be making those kind of dishes right now. Which leads me to what I made last night to accompany the Black Eyed Peas I posted the recipe for yesterday.

Today I provide you with Skillet Cornbread. Mmm, mmm. Nothing like a hot skillet of cornbread right out of the oven slathered in butter. I must say that after last night’s meal, I’ll need to start eating some seafood and lighter fare.

Truth be told, you can really only make cornbread the proper way in a hot-oiled cast iron skillet. It’s just the way it is. Now you can change out the ingredients, add some things, take things out, use whatever recipe you want, but if you don’t heat the oil in the skillet in the oven first, you just won’t get that nice crispy crust on the bottom — the best part! Last night I added some crumbled bacon bits to the mix. Add diced chili peppers for extra kick too, if you want.

Skillet Cornbread

1/4 cup of vegetable oil or bacon grease
1 cup of yellow corn meal
1 cup of flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup of milk or buttermilk
1 egg

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
2. Add the oil or bacon grease to the skillet and put in the oven.
3. Meanwhile, mix the dry ingredients in a medium bowl.
4. In a small bowl, beat the egg and milk together.
5. Pour the wet mix into the dry and stir until well blended into a batter.
6. Take skillet out of oven (with a hot pad!) and pour the hot oil into the batter and mix well.
7. Pour the batter into the skillet, and cook for 15-20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean of the center.

Note: Some of you may have noticed the lack of sugar in the recipe.  If you like “sweet” cornbread, you can add about 1/4 cup to the dry ingredients.

9 Responses to “Skillet Cornbread…the only way!”

  1. Nonna January 2, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, this blog! Thanks so much. I’m looking forward to lots of great things to cook.

    Like

  2. Colleen Tyler January 2, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    You’re welcome. I have to pay you back somehow for the recipes 🙂

    Like

  3. Joe Omelchuck January 2, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    If anything can make cornbread even better, bacon will, and does!

    Like

  4. Cathy January 3, 2012 at 4:41 am #

    I am so loving this blog!

    Like

  5. Pia January 11, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    Thanks for sharing your cornbread recipe. I was born and raised in the south, so we eat cornbread quite often. It’s funny how different regions of the country make it differently. I do use an iron skillet for sure, had it for years, it may be almost as old as I am! In the south, if you don’t have an iron skillet you aren’t a cook!! One day I’ll have to share my cornbread recipe….at another venue, after all this is your blog!!
    Keep up the great work, it’s so entertaining, I look forward to reading you every day!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lentil, Barley, and Ham Bone Soup « anotherfoodieblogger - October 13, 2012

    […] tomatoes. Turn down to low and cook for a few more hours or until ready to eat. I plan on making a skillet of cornbread to serve with this. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

    Like

  2. Navy Bean Soup with Ham | anotherfoodieblogger - November 3, 2013

    […] the side of the pot, or remove some from the soup and puree in a blender. We served this with Skillet Cornbread. A delicious, filling soup for a chilly fall […]

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

