The Good Kind of Pie

14 Jan

The Good Kind of Pie

A post from one of my book friends reminded me of this pie. Besides pecan pie, there is one other pie that I grew up with and just the thought of it sends me reeling back to my childhood days and the anticipation of that first glorious bite. Now my mom was not much of a baker (and neither am I for that matter) but us kids would clamor in excitement for this simple, decadent dessert. “Are you going to make The Good Kind of Pie??? The Good Kind of Pie! The Good Kind of Pie! Mom’s making The Good Kind of Pie!!!” I loved this pie so much I would sneak out of my room in the middle of the night, sit on the floor in front of the fridge and scoop the creamy filling straight into my mouth with my fingers.  (I am thankful Mom cannot navigate the internet…) We kids also fought over who got to lick the lid of the condensed milk. I did today when making this and nobody fought me for it. 🙂

There is absolutely no secret at all for this pie. It comes straight off the back of a can of Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk. I had not made this pie since college until today, so I had to resort to the internet to find the recipe. In doing so, I discovered the fact that this product has been in existence since 1856!And the official name of the dessert is Lemon Cream Pie, but to me it will always be known as The Good Kind of Pie. I copied the recipe below but added a few notes of my own. After making this today, I’m convinced my mom added yellow food coloring to it, because hers was always bright yellow.

The Good Kind of Pie

  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 1 (14 oz.) can Eagle Brand® Sweetened Condensed Milk
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 1 (8 or 9-inch) prepared graham cracker or baked pie crust (It MUST be a store-bought graham cracker crust. Trust me on this.)
  • Frozen whipped topping, thawed or whipped cream (Just use a container of Cool Whip. I bought an extra one in case my family wants some on top. I eat mine plain. On the floor. With my fingers.)
  • Grated lemon peel

    The Ingredients (eggs not shown)

HEAT oven to 325°F. Beat egg yolks in medium bowl with mixer. Add sweetened condensed milk and lemon juice until well mixed. Pour into crust.
BAKE 30 to 35 minutes or until set. Remove from oven. Cool 1 hour. Chill at least 3 hours.
SPREAD whipped topping or whipped cream over pie before serving. Garnish with lemon peel, if desired.

Drool.

After Note: When I finally ate this tonight after dinner, although it had the great same taste, it was fluffier than I remembered. I think I will use HALF a carton of whipped cream the next time. I remember it being much gooier, however my house guest tonight that had it loved the texture.

5 Responses to “The Good Kind of Pie”

  1. Nonna January 14, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    Think I’ll try it with Key Lime…..Mmmmmmmm, good!

    Like

  2. anotherfoodieblogger January 14, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    Great idea!

    Like

  3. Elyn January 15, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    Key Lime sounds yummy, too.

    Since I still have lots of Meyer Lemons on the tree, I think I’ll use those with a Tablespoon of regular lemon juice since the Meyers are so “sweet”.

    Kathryn, although it’s possible your Mom used food coloring, I think it’s probably more likely she was using “real” or “country” eggs. You know the kind where the yolk is deep, deep yellow, sometimes almost orange, and so thick it stands up round and high above the white. The kind I used to have on hand when we had our own chickens. **Sigh**

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 15, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

      Elyn, you are probably right. The eggs in the store have such small and light yellow yolks these days. Meyer Lemons, yumm! I rarely see those in the stores around here.

      Like

  4. Cathy January 17, 2012 at 5:42 am #

    Oh my, yet another delectable temptation from my favorite writer!!! You’re killing me here, lol!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

