You Call This a Spaghetti Squash?

23 Jan

Spaghetti Squash Meal

My husband clearly does not read any foodie blogs or cooking websites, as he came home with the most pitiful looking spaghetti squash the other day that I have ever seen. It was barely larger than a grapefruit, and was riddled with so many brown spots I was worried it had contracted some unnameable disease. The sneaky devil even left on a business trip today and left the poor vegetable with me to deal with.  I was ready to throw it in the trash when I googled Brown Spots Spaghetti Squash and read that brown spots could mean it has fungus, or the seeds have sprouted inside giving it a bitter taste. But then I clicked a few more links and found what I was looking for. A recipe website stated that brown spots were okay as long as the squash was hard and not mushy. Good enough for me. I quickly gave the squash the feel test, and was confident it passed. So I took my chances on it and threw it in the oven for an hour.

Small onion for size comparison.

I was quite pleased with the results.

It had no bitter taste and shredded perfectly into spaghetti strands (albeit small ones) for a quick supper. The last time I cooked one of these my daughter was too young to remember it, and she was fascinated by the transformation of this ugly vegetable into pasta! Well, she called it “weird” but I took that as fascination. And she did eat her bowl of it.

Cooking a spaghetti squash is easy. Many directions call for cutting them in half and scraping the seeds before cooking, but since the master carver was gone I didn’t want to impale myself trying to hack through the almost unimpenetrable hard skin. I did use a very sharp knife first though to stab at it all around to make sure I didn’t cause some kind of yellow explosion in the oven.  I then put it in a shallow casserole dish whole and baked it for an hour in a 350 degree oven. I let it cool enough to handle, then sliced through it quickly in half and removed the seeds with a large spoon. I then used a fork to “shred” the spaghetti noodles out of it.

It was served with some homemade spaghetti sauce we had in the freezer as a main dish, but you could also serve it with butter and pepper as a side dish.

I leave you tonight with two thoughts. If the spaghetti squash is covered with brown spots, best not take your chances and leave it for the next person to come along and pick it out for the unsuspecting cook at home. I have also come to the conclusion that I need to get some new festive, dinnerware, dontcha’ think???

4 Responses to “You Call This a Spaghetti Squash?”

  1. Joan Schultz January 23, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Sounds great! Haven’t had spaghetti squash in forever! I’ll have to try it again!

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 23, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      Neither had I! And thank you so much for reposting it for me on FB. Definitely some gremlins going on… 🙂

      Like

  2. Susan Shepler Blum January 23, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    I love your dinner ware. I have the old original tan bordered and green bordered corelle! It’s hard to eat anything off of that stuff. I promise that I won’t eat any of your wonderful recipe dishes on this dinner ware. There, I’ve made the commitment. I now have to purchase some nice dinner ware, for myself and to honor your dishes!!! 😉 You rock! 😉

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 23, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

      You are so sweet Susan! I’m actually looking forward to the “hunt” for festive dishes. I think I’ll try the thrift shops for fun stuff for photographing, and then probably still use the regular plates and bowls for the family until I figure out what I want to get as a set. 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

