Chicken Egg Drop Soup…Quick and Easy

27 Jan

Chicken Egg Drop Soup (Notice the use of a different bowl!)

I was in the mood for soup for lunch today, and when scouring the fridge to see what I had I found a couple of green onions and mushrooms that needed used quick. I reached into the recesses of my mind and remembered a soup I used to make in college all the time that used those two items. The recipe originally came from a wok cookbook given to me by my mother (of course) when she found out I had purchased my first wok. I still make the soup a few times a year now, but not nearly as often as I used to. Today was a good day to make it again, as I had limited time on my lunch break to make this and post.

Chicken Egg Drop Soup

3-4 cups homemade chicken stock, or low-sodium canned/boxed
2 green onions, sliced thin into 1-inch pieces
2-4 mushrooms, sliced
1 tablespoon corn starch
1 tablespoon low sodium soy sauce
1 tablespoon water
1 or 2 eggs
Black or white pepper to taste

In a wok or pot, bring chicken stock to a simmer. Add the green onions (reserve a few for garnish) and mushrooms and simmer about 10 more minutes. Mix the corn starch, soy sauce, and water together and add to the pot. Bring to back to a low boil this time. Beat the egg(s) in a small bowl, then slowly stir into the boiling chicken broth with a fork to separate. I have also added some chopped fresh spinach at this time, but didn’t have any today.  Remove from heat, ladle into your bowl and garnish with reserved green onion. Soup’s On!

3 Responses to “Chicken Egg Drop Soup…Quick and Easy”

  1. Jan Lipert January 27, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    Sounds delish – I love Chicken Egg Drop Soup!

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 27, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      Jan it is so dang easy and quick! My version is really low salt, so just add more soy sauce or some salt to flavor it more! Muaah!

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Summer Weather in Spring and a Funny Pun « anotherfoodieblogger - April 25, 2012

    […] I have made this many times since I first wrote about it back in January. It’s quick, it’s easy, and it’s oh so good.  Chicken Egg Drop Soup […]

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

