Melba Toast and Space Sticks

28 Jan

Melba Toast

I was on the hunt for some rice cakes I was craving the other day, and spied on the lower shelf a box of Melba Toast! I hadn’t eaten one in so many years that I can’t even remember the last time I had some. I do know it was one of my favorite “crackers” as a child. It’s very bland, but I just loved the hard crunchiness of it. Of course I bought me a box. I ate a few with my leftover soup today for lunch. Yep, just as bland and crunchy as I remember them. Perfect.

For some strange reason, seeing the box reminded me of another odd food I grew up with in Houston. Space Sticks! They were supposed to be an instant breakfast food. They had the strangest texture, almost like a gritty unbaked cookie dough. Ohhh, but I loved them. They were introduced during the NASA space flight programs in Houston in the 60s. They touted them as “Space Food” and had a picture of an astronaut on the box. I have no clue if that product is even made anymore, I’m very doubtful it is. I remember there being chocolate and caramel flavors. It was such a treat to get a Space Stick in my lunch box. I’m pretty sure my mom hid the boxes of them in the house, because she would always say we were out of them when I asked for one when I was hungry for a snack.

Do you have a favorite “snack” that you ate as a child? Perhaps something a little unusual that can’t be found today? I would love to hear from you!

6 Responses to “Melba Toast and Space Sticks”

  1. Jeanne Mortensen (Jean in a Model T) January 29, 2012 at 3:59 am #

    This seems really silly now when I think about it, but it was Wonder Bread. My mom always made homemade bread and it was good but would get hard and stale and we had to eat it. But she would buy us Wonder Bread for our lunches for school. We were not allowed to eat hot lunches because it was too expensive (I was always so envious of the kids that ate it everyday), but if there was a roast beef dinner with mashed potatoes, etc., we could buy it and enjoy hot lunch. I would stand with my ticket knowing I didn’t have my two cent ticket for milk only. ANYWAY, back to the Master Bread. It was so soft and white and I didn’t even mind the crust. I would sneak a slice and then go back for another one. I would sit in my bottom bunk in my bedroom and eat all of the crust off from the slice. Then I would take the white bread part and crush it up to a ball and pop it into my mouth and eat it. It was just so good that way. I don’t think my mom knew that I did that because she would have been appalled. But it is a favorite memory of the early 60’s. Would I do it today, only if I had a slice of Wonder Bread. 🙂

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 29, 2012 at 10:10 am #

      A wonderful story Jeanne! What kid in the 60s didn’t roll up the middle of Wonder Bread into a little ball? Thank you for sharing with us. ♥

      Like

      • Jeanne (Jean in a Model T) January 29, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

        I guess it was Master Bread that we had when kids. Pretty much like the Wonder Bread of today. My DH reminded me. ha ha.

        Like

      • anotherfoodieblogger January 30, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

        Hi Jeanne! I almost missed this comment. Hey, any white soft bread in those days were a treat, huh?

        Like

  2. loveyourdna October 24, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    I grew up loving Zwieback with butter dipped in cocoa. I still look for it, but its not easily found. Only recently was I able to locate it at a German grocery store in my city, but it’s full slices (Brandt brand) rather than the small finger-food size by Nabisco. I’ve never tried Melba Toast, is it similar?

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 24, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

      I’ve never had Zwieback, is it sweet or savory? Melba Toast is rather bland actually, but it’s not sweet at all, more like a bagel chip I guess. I’m pretty sure Melba Toast is sold in most major store chains. I’ll let you know if I ever come across Zwieback though!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

