Distracted Grocery Shopping

30 Jan

Dashing for the milk section

I was shopping in a hurry while my daughter was at her half hour piano lesson, and had it all set in my mind to make Buttered Rosemary New Potatoes and Green Beans in my pressure cooker tonight for dinner, and of course for my blog. As I dropped her off at her lesson, she asked me to make sure I bought her some fresh peaches and pears for her lunch. I scoured the fruit areas, and could only see bins and bins of apples, oranges and bananas. Where’s all the other fruit? Oh. Yes. It’s winter. Not quite peach season, is it? So I grabbed a couple of apples, then headed towards the potatoes. I picked out some nice small red potatoes, and was on my way to the green beans when out of the corner of my eye I spied a few pears in the organic section. Aha! At least I can bring her one of her special requests. I spent a few minutes trying to determine if the pears were ripe, as I’ve never been much of a pear eater. My mind wandered at that point remembering she had asked me yesterday to buy some powdered sugar next time I was at the store.  She wanted some so she could make fruit crepes with the frozen berries we had for smoothie-making. Crepes? My daughter knows how to make crepes? I wonder when that happened? Next thing I know, I’m headed to where I think the powder sugar would be. Oh, and we need milk! That’s all the way on the other side of the store in the back! Why the heck is that in such an inconvenient place? By now I’m looking at the clock and see my time is running out. I locate the powdered sugar, then make a dash to the milk section. I get to the checkout stands, and they are backed up three or four deep at each register. I’ve got less than 10 minutes at this point to check out and drive back to pick up my daughter.

By now you must have figured out that I forgot to buy the green beans. I’m surprised I remembered to actually put a couple of pears in the basket. So, no recipe for that tonight, or for our dinner. But you can be sure that I will be making it soon!

I have also decided to make it official that I’ll just be posting periodically, instead of daily. With work and everything else that is going on, I needed to make the decision to scale some things back in my life. Don’t worry, I’m not going away and I’ll post at least twice weekly, if not more! This has been such a fun journey for me. I think it will actually be hard for me to not pop in here and write something every day.

And please don’t ever hesitate to leave me comments, I do love to hear from you. I’ll take recipe requests, too! See you soon.

2 Responses to “Distracted Grocery Shopping”

  1. Susan Shepler Blum January 30, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

    Hey Big Fish! I like to read your blog even if you don’t have a recipe!!! 😉 I have been keeping under wraps (and continually trying variations) of several “Health Bomb” muffins. When I have them the way I like I’ll pass the recipes on to you. It’s the least I can do. One of my critics/crash test dummies suggested that they were so delicious and “healthy” that I ought to sell them to those Hollywood folk for all of their cleansings. So I may be on to something. Even though Hollywood is in between us, maybe you and I can figure something out! 😉 xo Susan PS Hope that you could get thru those lines at the grocery in time to pick up your daughter. It’s best to slow down, miss a few items like some beans, then have plenty of time to drive safely! We Need You!!!!!! 😉

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 30, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

      Susan, please send it on to me when you’ve “perfected” them! My husband just had to go on cholesterol-lowering meds, and I really need to healthy up my cooking. But it’s so hard when I was raised on all that good Texas food, ya’ know? I got to my daughter safe and sound, thank you. :-*

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

