Okra with Tomatoes, Bacon, and Onion

3 Feb

Okra with Tomatoes, Bacon, and Onion

Okra is one of those foods that you either love or hate. Kind of like cilantro. I’ve heard some people think it tastes like soap. Soap? Really now. But the biggest complaint I hear about okra is the texture. I admit it does get a little slimy, but I consider that a “thickener” for the liquid. And those little seeds inside? Pop! I love the way they pop in my mouth, like a little surprise in each bite.  And fried okra? Divine. Oh how I miss being able to order a heap of fried okra.

This recipe is so quick and easy, and it makes a great side dish for any meal. But I more often make it midday, and eat a huge bowl of it for lunch as my husband and daughter are in the icky-slimy okra-hater camp.

I have to make this dish using frozen okra, as I don’t think there’s fresh okra available for several hundred miles in these parts. In a pinch I also use jarred bacon bits, but of course some skillet-cooked bacon is better and makes the house smell wonderful!  I did have to resort to the jarred bacon the other day when I made this.

Okra with Tomatoes, Bacon, and Onion

1/2 onion, chopped
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 package frozen cut okra
1/2 cup water
1 Roma tomato, chopped
2-3 slices cooked bacon, crumbled
Black pepper, to taste

In a medium saucepan, add the chopped onion and butter and sauté until the onion is translucent.  Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a simmer for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.  That’s it! Dig in.

4 Responses to “Okra with Tomatoes, Bacon, and Onion”

  1. Elyn February 4, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    In spite of the bacon, it looks pretty healthy.

    My Texan Granny sure did try to get me eat okra, and she almost had me with her fried okra, but I have to admit, in spite of the fact that I’m “half-Texan” (Dad and family was from Abilene area), the Yankee half of me won’t touch okra.

    I’m sure it’s a serious character flaw………..;)

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger February 4, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

      LOL Elyn, if that’s your worst character flaw then I think you are safe. You know, you could omit the bacon from the… nahhhh! 😉

      Like

  2. Melanie February 4, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    I won’t touch the stuff, even fried. And I wan’t tell you what one of my bosses said about stewed okra because it’s just too disgusting to publish.

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger February 4, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

      Well you can join my husband and daughter in that club! I can only imagine what your boss said, ewww!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

