Creamy Asparagus and Potato Soup

10 Feb

Creamy and Asparagus and Potato Soup

My husband came home with two bundles of these beautiful asparagus bundles yesterday, and I was excited to come up with a recipe that would be both filling and tasty. After gleaning the ‘net, I found one recipe I could adapt, but I changed it so much it’s not very close to the original recipe. For one, it called for chicken bouillon and water for the broth. I don’t know how many times I’ve said YUCK to that! Homemade chicken broth was definitely in order. It also called for heavy cream and a half a cup of flour. That sounded way too heavy for my liking, so just used milk and a little flour and then pureed half the soup in a blender to make it creamy. And what…no garlic? What’s wrong with that picture? But one thing that caught my eye was that it used cheddar cheese and bacon as the topping. Oh yes. I can go with that.

Fresh Asparagus

I used one bundle of the asparagus, so figured that was about a pound after trimming the stalks. I’m sure we’ll use the other bundle as a side dish of steamed asparagus for an upcoming meal. It took me several tries to get a good picture, so by the time I did, most of the cheese had melted. But it was a great meal, and my husband went for seconds. Even the daughter said it was really good. When I first tasted it I thought it needed a little salt, which is a no-no in my house, but after adding the cheese and bacon, it was perfect. A keeper!

Creamy Asparagus and Potato Soup

1 bundle of asparagus (about a pound), trimmed and cut into 1-inch pieces
3-4 potatoes, peeled and cubed
1/2 onion, diced
2 stalks celery, diced
2-3 teaspoons minced garlic
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon butter
4-6 cups chicken broth, homemade preferably or low-sodium canned
Black pepper
Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herb Blend
1 cup milk
1 tablespoon flour
Shredded cheddar cheese
Crumbled cooked bacon, or jarred bacon bits

Cooking the Veggies (and a bit o' bacon!)

After prepping all the vegetables, heat the oil and butter in a soup pot or dutch oven.  Keep some of the tips out if you want to make your soup “pretty” at the end. Add the vegetables and sauté for about 10 minutes, stirring often. At the last minute I decided to go ahead and add some of the bacon at this point for extra flavor. Add the chicken broth and seasonings to taste. Bring to a boil, then simmer until the potatoes are tender. This took me about 20 minutes at high altitude but may be much shorter at lower altitudes. Ladle about half the soup into a blender and puree until smooth then pour back into the pot. Add the flour to a measuring cup, then pour in the milk and whisk until smooth and slowly pour it into the simmering soup. Stir and simmer for just a few more minutes. Ladle into bowls, then garnish with cheese, bacon, and reserved steamed asparagus tips.

4 Responses to “Creamy Asparagus and Potato Soup”

  1. Jan Lipert February 11, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    This is a keeper! Can’t wait to make it!

    Like

  2. Nonna February 11, 2012 at 9:07 am #

    It sounds wonderful!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

