Susan’s Health Bomb Muffins

26 Feb
Health Bomb Muffins

Health Bomb Muffins

No friends, I did not abandon you! I had it in my mind to make a friend’s recipe for some healthy muffins, and decided I would wait to write my next blog until I did. My friend has made these many times and adapted the original recipe over the years. I have used her adapted recipe for this. I was able to buy the ingredients and the amount I needed for a very good price by going to the bulk section of one of our grocery stores here.

Muffin Batter

Batter up!

I actually found this a lot easier to make than expected. I had my daughter help me shred the carrots for it since we have two vegetable peelers, and I also used applesauce per Susan’s directions instead of peeling and chopping a bunch of apples. These muffins are absolutely delicious!!! And, they have flaxseed meal and oat bran in them, which are cited to have many health benefits over using standard bleached white flour. Of course, the addition of fruits and vegetables helps! Now both my daughter and husband can have a healthy breakfast in the coming week or two instead of complaining about the boring oatmeal and Cheerios that are typically available here.

Susan’s Health Bomb Muffins

1  1/2  cups whole wheat flour
3/4 cup flaxseed meal
3/4 cup oat bran
1 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 1/2 cups finely shredded carrots
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
3/4 cup golden raisins
1 cup chopped walnuts (I used Texas pecans, from my mom of course)
1 cup milk
2 beaten eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix the  flour, flaxseed meal, oat bran, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a large bowl.  Stir in the carrots, applesauce, raisins, and nuts.

Combine the milk, beaten eggs, and vanilla in another smaller bowl.  Pour the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients. Stir until all ingredients are moistened.  Do not overmix.

Let the batter rest a few minutes before putting in oven. Fill the muffin tins a little more than 3/4 full. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. I ended up with 18 muffins.  These are really, really good!

2 Responses to “Susan’s Health Bomb Muffins”

  1. Susan Shepler Blum February 26, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    God was well pleased when he bit into these muffins. 😉 😉 The pecan idea is brilliant! My next batch will be w/ pecans for me too. If not tonight, then tomorrow for sure. I’m so excited they came out well. Yipee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Wishing you Tons Health Bomb Love,

    Susan xo

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger February 26, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

      All thanks to you Susan! They are really good, and my family loves them, me included. Thank you again, sweety! XXXOOO

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

