On the Road to Recovery

29 Feb

Hello my foodie friends. I just wanted to do a quick check in with you to let you know that the Mohs Surgery was a success and I am resting and recovering now. I was fortunate that the cancer was completely removed after Stage 1 of the surgery. Because of the location of the cancer (overlapping my lip line), the surgeon felt it was best to let it heal naturally rather than make additional incisions on the inside of my lip and chin to stitch the wound closed on my natural lip line.

What does that mean? Well, I have to be very diligent about changing the bandages and keeping the area clean and covered with Neosporin until it completely heals. I will have a scar, but the doctor felt the risks outweighed the final results of having a perfect lip line. I’m OK with that, I guess. I have never been that vain of a person, and I’m certainly not risking my future career as a supermodel!

My wonderful husband made some homemade creamy broccoli, potato, and cheese soup for my first meal out of surgery yesterday. I was in no mood for picture-taking, but let me tell you it was a blessing to be able to eat the yummy meal, even through a straw! I am looking forward to cooking some great meals again as soon as possible. Thank you everyone for your well wishes over the past month while I awaited the final outcome. They were very much appreciated. ♥

6 Responses to “On the Road to Recovery”

  1. Nonna February 29, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    Rest, and get well, my friend! The soup sounds delicious!
    Nonna

    Like

  2. Becky March 1, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    Hope you continue on the road to a speed recovery! Don’t overdo it.Let everyone wait on you for a change! (((Hugs))) to you!

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger March 1, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      Thank you so much Becky! Glad my husband can make good soup!

      Like

      • patiemoose March 2, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

        Wish we were all there to help take care of you! Well wishes and lots of love coming!

        Like

      • anotherfoodieblogger March 4, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

        Thank you so much Patie! I can’t wait to use and “feature” my new owl spatula in one of my blog photos. 🙂

        Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

