Tarragon Lime Roasted Chicken – Paul’s Way

5 Apr
Tarragon Lime Roasted Chicken

Tarragon Lime Roasted Chicken

We’ve been eating a lot of red meat and pork lately, and one of our goals has been to cut back on that but with the slew of recent visitors we’ve failed miserably.  Last night we had a vegetarian meal, and I was right proud of my husband when he made a  meatless meal last night. I do believe that’s the first one in recent memory! So today I wanted to make something with chicken, and I checked the freezer and we were flat out of any kind. So I asked him if he could pick up some fresh chicken from the store on his way home. I just didn’t want him to come home with frozen chicken I would have to defrost. I do seem to remember a similar event regarding ground burger…hmmm. Anyways, I had oven-baked chicken tenders coated with bread crumbs or something like that in mind. However, my husband tends to take things I say very literally sometimes. When he came home, I asked if he got the chicken. “Yep, sure did, and it’s a big one!” OMG. I then had my own literal moment of a whole chicken, complete with feathers sitting on the cutting board ready for me to chop the head off. “What on earth did you buy?” I asked, as I was typing away at some work email I was crafting. “You asked to get a fresh chicken, so that’s what I got. A nice whole chicken for us. What did you want to do with it?”

LOL. OK, so plan B, huh? I do love homemade roasted chicken, don’t get me wrong. He just threw me for a loop for a few minutes. After thinking about it, I crafted a recipe in my mind with what I knew we had on hand. He had arrived home early from his work, and I still had an hour or so left, so I told him I’d season it up if he’d prep and wash the chicken and get the oven preheated. Well, he did a nice job of washing it inside and out, and even patted it dry with paper towels. Thing is, when I got to it, I discovered he forgot to take out all the giblets inside! It’s a learning curve for that man some days, I tell you. So after removing the giblets (set aside to cook later as “treats” for our dog), I got it all prepped. This recipe is very simple, and after I prepared the chicken I let Paul cook it. He said you can never over-cook a chicken, as long as it’s done slow and on low heat. I must admit I was a bit worried about the time it was in the oven, but it came out juicy, tender, and perfect!

Tarragon Lime Roasted Chicken

1 whole chicken (no head or feathers, please)
Spray olive oil
Black pepper
Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herb
Crushed dried tarragon (fresh would probably be better)
2 limes, each cut in half

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees. Remove the giblets from the chicken then wash the inside and out and pat dry with paper towels.  Spray the chicken lightly all over with olive oil.  If you don’t have spray olive oil, just pour a couple teaspoons into your hand. Rub it in all over with your hands. Season the chicken inside and out with black pepper and Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herb and rub that in too. Squeeze one of the half-limes over the top of the chicken and spread it around. (Save the squeezed lime remnant!)  Lastly, sprinkle the crushed tarragon over the top and bottom of the chicken. Place the chicken in a foil-lined pan, then stuff the inside of the chicken with all the lime halves. Cover it tightly with foil and place in the oven for 1  hour and 45 minutes. Remove the foil, and bump the oven up to 300 degrees. Baste the chicken with the juices in the bottom the pan with a brush, and bake for about 1 to 1 and a half hours longer, depending on how reliable your oven cooks. We are still trying to get the hang of our gas oven, it sure cooks different from an electric oven! Baste periodically during that time. In the last 15 minutes, bump the oven up one more time to 350 until the skin is brown and crispy. Remove from oven, and let sit for 1o minutes. We served with rice and steamed broccoli. Use the leftovers for chicken salad the next day!

2 Responses to “Tarragon Lime Roasted Chicken – Paul’s Way”

  1. jan0eliz April 6, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    This sounds WONDERFUL! In the past I’ve made roast chicken stuffed with lemon halves, but the lime and tarragon sound out of this world. Definitely on my meal list. Thanks!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

