Marinated Grilled Zucchini and Squash

15 Jul
Zucchini and Squash Ready for Prepping

Zucchini and Squash Ready for Prepping

I simply love grilled zucchini and squash, and I wish I could say I used some from our garden, but I only have a small potted herb and lettuce garden. The good news is I used fresh tarragon and basil from it for this recipe. In the past I have typically marinated the veggies in Italian salad dressing, but this time I wanted to make my own marinade. Recent purchases of two types of vinegar helped add a nice tang to it. If you don’t have either of those vinegars, you could sub any type of wine or cider vinegar, I’m sure. Same for the herbs — oregano, rosemary, thyme…

We served this with grilled steaks and baked red potatoes. A nice summer fare!

Marinating the Veggies

Marinating the Veggies

Marinated Grilled Zucchini and Squash

1/4 cup olive oil
Juice of 1 lemon
1 tablespoon Balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1 teaspoon fresh tarragon, chopped fine
1 teaspoon fresh sweet basil, chopped fine
Black pepper to taste
Shredded Parmesan cheese

In a large glass or rubber flat dish, whisk all the ingredients except the vegetables and cheese until well blended. Slice the zucchini and squash lengthwise into even strips and place in the dish with the marinade, using a basting brush to coat well. Grind extra black pepper over all to taste. Cover and let marinate at room temperature for two to four hours. Heat the grill to high heat, and cook about 15 minutes, turning once halfway through.  I added shredded Parmesan cheese in the last few minutes of cooking. You can reserve the marinade to drizzle over the squash when serving, for extra flavor.

Grilled Zucchini and Squash

Grilled Zucchini and Squash

4 Responses to “Marinated Grilled Zucchini and Squash”

  1. Susan Shepler Blum July 15, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    This looks and sounds absolutely fabulous! I can’t wait to try it tomorrow or the next day. Yippeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😉

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger July 15, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

      Yay Susan! A comment on my blog, lol! I hope you enjoy it friend. 🙂

      Like

      • Cheryl Roberts July 16, 2012 at 6:06 am #

        I’m going to use your special marinate recipe too, yum!

        Like

      • anotherfoodieblogger July 16, 2012 at 8:13 am #

        I hope you enjoy Cheryl! I don’t add salt to any of my recipes due to my husband’s diet, but feel free to add some to taste.

        Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

