Planter Pot Fresh Herb Garden

15 Aug
Basil, Tarragon, Lettuce

Basil, Tarragon, Leaf Lettuce

Most of my recipes lately have included some pickings from my herb garden I planted earlier this year. Since we are renting I had to make do with using planters, but the bounty has been fabulous! Pictured are sweet basil, tarragon, mixed leaf lettuce, and cherry tomatoes. In addition to what’s pictured, I also have cilantro but it’s pretty much picked and spent now.

Cherry Tomatoes

Cherry Tomatoes

I also have a rosemary bush my mother gave me that I’ve been using a lot too. I planted all this from seed, except the cherry tomato plant which was about 12-inches tall when I got it. I put them on the railings of our back deck, which gives me a good visual reminder to water them every day, especially in this hot weather we’ve been having.

Mixed Leaf Lettuce, Tarragon, Basil

Mixed Leaf Lettuce, Tarragon, Basil

So no recipe today but just some pictures for you to enjoy to help you think about planting your own herb garden next spring.

Update: I forgot I planted chives too! They are in the container with the cilantro, and since I didn’t take a picture of them, they were out of sight, out of mind! Silly me.

Leaf Lettuce, Red Leaf Lettuce, Tarragon, Basil

Leaf Lettuce, Red Leaf Lettuce, Tarragon, Basil

One Response to “Planter Pot Fresh Herb Garden”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Harvesting Your Herbs for Winter Use « anotherfoodieblogger - October 10, 2012

    […] I’ve been hauling the remnants of my herb garden in and out of the house the past week, since it’s been getting down below freezing (or close to) and I still had some harvest-able fresh herbs. I saw this great idea on Pinterest on how you can harvest, freeze, and then use your fresh herbs throughout the winter! What a great idea. I really can’t attribute this to any one person, as I guess it’s a method that has been done for years but I obviously never paid attention since I had never had an herb garden before this year. You can read about my herb garden here: Planter Pot Fresh Herb Garden […]

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

