Our Trusty Charcoal Grill

5 Sep
Our Trusty Charcoal Grill

Our Trusty Charcoal Grill

Hello all my foodie friends! We had a splendid time on the river and bay at the coast last week, with beautiful weather and plenty of time for fishing and crabbing. The Chinook Salmon were leaping and rolling out of the river right before our eyes, but just did not want to bite yet. It is still a bit early but we have a few more trips planned to see if we can snag one (or two) of those beauties. But the Dungeness crab did not fail us.  We snagged enough keepers to put some in the freezer when we got home for good eats later.

Now, speaking to the title of this week’s post. Our Trusty Charcoal Grill is a family heirloom that I hold near and dear to my heart. My parents bought this grill when they got married in 1959. Countless family meals were grilled on it until the advent of the propane grill. They were going to toss it but I rescued it from its imminent demise when I volunteered to haul it to my rental house when I was in college.

Chicken and Veggie Kabobs with Foil-Pack Potatoes

Chicken and Veggie Kabobs with Foil-Pack Potatoes

“They just don’t make them like they used to” is an understatement when it comes to this grill. The solid cast aluminum body has weathered unscathed through through the scorching heat of Texas summers, hurricanes in Florida, brutal blizzards in Central Oregon, and insane flooding of the Siletz River. Although the wheels and grates have been replaced several times, the core of this beauty has never failed. No rust, no cracking, nothing.  My husband begged and pleaded for many years to put my baby to rest and buy a propane grill, but I held out until about five years ago when I conceded ONLY if we could bring it to our river property to use as our mainstay there. I was terrified earlier this year that my grill was lost to the seas after the flooding  when I didn’t see it lashed to the tree where we usually left it after securing the property last winter. But I breathed a sigh of relief when I found it inside our RV. Then it came back to me that I was so afraid of losing it in the floods that at last minute I stashed it inside the camper instead of trusting that the ropes would keep it secure. Whew! So glad I did that after seeing the damage from the floods.

Barbecued Oysters

Barbecued Oysters

This past week Our Trusty Charcoal grill provided us with hot dogs, carne asada tacos, chicken and veggie kabobs, grilled foil pack potatoes, and barbecued fresh oysters. I just cannot imagine life without my grill.  Silly, but true. Happy Grilling, my friends!

2 Responses to “Our Trusty Charcoal Grill”

  1. Susan Shepler Blum September 5, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    Hi KR, So glad that you had such a nice time on your vacation. As usual your pictures and stories and recipes leave my mouth watering. I’m going to make those potatoes on my grill tonight, w/ maybe a filet to go w/ it…yum… I’m still awaiting adoption papers!

    Hugs, Susan 😉

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger September 5, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

      Susan you make me smile! Those papers must be lost in the mail, I’ve been waiting for you to show up on my doorstep! 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

