Roasted Broccoflower

15 Sep
Whole Broccoflower

Whole Broccoflower

No, this is not some alien green-dyed cauliflower. I spotted this at the grocery the other day when I was looking for some fresh veggies for dinner. We like broccoli, we like cauliflower… what the heck! The first thing I did when I got home was google this specimen to make sure I wasn’t being tricked into buying an over-priced fake veggie. I found that this hybrid vegetable was developed in Holland and the name Broccoflower was coined by the company Tanimura & Antle in California in 1989. Broccoflower® is actually a registered trademark!

I consulted my owl friends on the best way to cook this. I had thought about putting it in the pressure cooker as I make a mean Cauliflower in Mushroom Cheese Sauce with that recipe, but the vote was an overwhelmingly “Nooooo!” on that idea. Then came a suggestion of sautéing in oil in a saucepan with garlic. Ahhh… getting somewhere. I finally decided to roast the broccoflower in the oven, as I had roasted cauliflower that way before mixed with some other veggies. The ingredient list is short and the prep is easy. The hardest part was trying to get a good picture of it without any natural sunlight available and some of our overhead lights have burned out so had to use the flash. It took me so many shots to get anything halfway decent that the poor family had to eat it slightly cooled. I would recommend serving this as soon as it comes out of the oven, though. The broccoflower tasted slightly sweet, and the savory crunchy roasted garlic bits made this a winner side dish to go with our chicken!

Roasted Broccoflower

1 head broccoflower
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons minced garlic
Black pepper to taste
Shredded Parmesan cheese

Roasted Broccoflower

Roasted Broccoflower

Preheat oven to 400. Meanwhile, wash and trim the broccoflower and cut the flowerettes into even-sized pieces about 1/2-inch to an inch. In a glass bowl mix the olive oil, garlic and pepper. Add the broccoflower and stir to coat well. Pour the contents of the bowl onto a foil-lined baking sheet, and spread around evenly. Heat in oven for 15 minutes, then flip the pieces over with a spatula. Cook for another 15 minutes or so until everything starts looking brown and crispy. Sprinkle some shredded Parmesan cheese over top, then cook for about five more minutes. I only had about a tablespoon left of the cheese in the container so you really can’t see it in the photo, but feel free to add as much as you want! And, serve immediately for best results.

4 Responses to “Roasted Broccoflower”

  1. anyone4curryandotherthings March 1, 2016 at 9:32 pm #

    Interesting – I learned something new today – thanks. Will have a go at your lovely sauce mentioned in your article.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cathie April 20, 2016 at 3:46 pm #

    Bought some broccoflower yesterday. Thanks for the recipe! Sounds quick and yummy I will be making it tomorrow for dinner!!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

