Spicy Sausage Skillet Pasta ~ A One-Pot Meal!

30 Jan
Spicy Sausage Skillet

Spicy Sausage Skillet

I am not at all going to pretend this is my own recipe. I saw this on Pinterest and said “Yep. I’m so doing that. Hands down.” My tweaks to this are so minor that it just stands to prove that the original recipe was a winner. It originally came from America’s Test Kitchen cookbook, and I found it on Kevin & Amanda’s food blog that I follow. Well, I don’t have the physical cookbook so searched for the link to the original recipe online, and that’s a no-can-do unless I subscribe to it for money. Gee, did I mention I’m frugal too? So instead I will linky you to the adaptation from Amanda, and then tell you about my minor tweaks. Actually some aren’t so minor (and ones you should NOT do) as I got interrupted by a phone call from my seester in Austin trying to plan a family reunion, (HI SEESTER!) and got totally distracted during the making of this. But that’s OK. I’ll try to keep to what you really need to do to make this. It really is simple if you don’t have a phone attached to your head during the process.

Spicy Sausage Skillet Hot out of Oven

Spicy Sausage Skillet Hot out of Oven

Spicy Sausage Skillet Pasta
Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen and Kevin & Amanda

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 package smoked turkey sausage, sliced 1/4-inch thick
1 1/2 cups diced onions
2 teaspoons minced garlic
2 cups homemade or low-sodium chicken broth
1 10-ounce can RoTel (or can of tomatoes and green chiles)
1/2 cup milk
8 ounces pasta, something sturdy like Penne or Rigatoni
Lots of ground pepper, to taste
6 ounces Monterey Jack cheese, shredded (about 1 1/2 cups)
2 sliced green onions

Spicy Sausage Skillet 2

A view from the other side…

Add olive oil to a cast iron or oven-safe skillet over medium high heat. Add the turkey sausage (this is the Kielbasa-looking horseshoe-shaped stuff, not the ground stuff in the casings) and onions and cook until lightly browned, about 10 minutes. The original recipe called for 4 minutes and they were not nearly done at that time. Add the minced garlic and cook about a minute more.  Add the chicken broth, RoTel tomatoes (recipe called for mild, I used original because I like spicy!), milk (recipe called for cream, did not have any), pasta, pepper and stir. Now here is where I got distracted. The recipe called for 2 cups of chicken broth, but I was yakking to my sister and I think I added 3 cups by accident. I can’t be sure. It also called for 8 ounces of pasta, but my box was 16 ounces and just eyeballed half of it while talking and think I barely added more than a quarter of the box.. oops.  Next bring the mixture to a boil, cover skillet, and reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer until pasta is tender, about 15 or 20 minutes. At this point it was way too soupy so I did what all good cooks do when this happens. I dumped the extra liquid down the drain. Worked for me! I hope you won’t have to do this step. I’m sure if I had added the correct amount of pasta (and got the broth amount right), more of the liquid would have been absorbed, too. Now remove skillet from the heat and stir in half the cheese. Top with remaining cheese and sprinkle with green onions. Broil in oven until cheese is melted and bubbly, about 5 to 10 minutes. Serve with a simple green salad on the side. The flavors are just delicious and creamy gooey and you will gobble this right up!

8 Responses to “Spicy Sausage Skillet Pasta ~ A One-Pot Meal!”

  1. loveyourdna January 30, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    This IS a winner!!

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 30, 2013 at 8:53 am #

      So easy and good, isn’t it? Why thank you!

      Like

      • gmarch53 January 30, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

        Wonder if I can substitute turkey sausage? I think I will try this. Thanks!

        Like

      • anotherfoodieblogger January 30, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

        Glenna, the recipe calls for turkey sausage already, no sub needed! It’s the kielbasa type sausage. I think you will love this!

        Like

  2. Elyn January 30, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    Spotted this too late for tonight. But you’re right, most everything is already on the shelf for dinner tomorrow night – looking forward to it. Thanks, Kathryn!

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 30, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      I hope you enjoy it Elyn! I loved reading about your spontaneous trip to the coast on Facebook. Those trips make for great memories.

      Like

  3. galexander2012 February 4, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

    you have helped me expand my cooking spices, since I can’t use much salt because of hubby’s high blood pressure.

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger February 4, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

      I am so glad to hear that! My cooking has drastically changed since my hubby was diagnosed with high blood pressure. xo

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

