My Recipe is a Food52 Community Pick Candidate!

24 Jun

I got back last night from a week in Texas for a family reunion, and was pleasantly surprised to find that one of my recipes was not only chosen to be tested as a Community Pick candidate for a Food52 recipe contest, but they also used my photo in the announcement! I probably won’t have a new recipe for you until later this week, but in the meantime here is a re-post of the original recipe below, and a link to the version I submitted to the contest. Just click on my photo in the link below to get to the contest version.

Food52 Community Picks Recipe Testing — Road Trip Snacks

I must confess I enjoyed that week off without cooking, and the Tex-Mex and BBQ I ate in Central Texas, both restaurant and homemade, were simply outstanding! I think some days I ate Tex-Mex for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I have a feeling you’ll be seeing some recipes inspired by what I ate very soon. 🙂

Toasty Roasted Chickpeas (Garbanzo Beans), Cajun Style

Toasty Roasted Chickpeas (Garbanzo Beans), Cajun Style

OK so I finally jumped on this bandwagon. After seeing so many pics of it on Pinterest I just had to make these. I promised myself the next bandwagon I’m going to jump on is Kale Chips. I’m still leary of that concept (better than potato chips!!!!) but one never knows. Some claims on Pinterest really are true, but you have to weed through all those exclamation points and eventually just try something yourself to see if it’s true. Now I must confess, these are really, really, really good!!! (See, a triple!) In fact, they were so good, I ate almost the entire batch in one sitting. I shamefully offered my daughter about five of them left in the bowl when she got home from school.

The possibilities of this recipe are endless. I decided to do a low-salt Cajun twist on these, although I didn’t have to do the no salt route since my hubby got to taste nary a one of these by the time he got home. I looked at the ingredients on the back of my Cajun spice jar, then just started adding those ingredients to olive oil (minus the salt plus just a few other tweaks, like fake-shake cheese), then included some lime juice too because, well, lime is a Cajun ingredient, right? And citrus also makes up for a lack of salt in taste. However, if you want to make this easy-peasy style, just use a tablespoon of  your store-bought Cajun seasoning instead of the  other spices, and the world will be fine.

Toasty Roasted Chickpeas... drool

Toasty Roasted Chickpeas… drool

Toasty Roasted Chickpeas (Garbanzo Beans), Cajun Style

1 can of chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon grated Parmesan cheese (the green can stuff I call fake-shake)
1/4 teaspoon Hungarian sweet paprika
1/4 teaspoon regular paprika
1/8 teaspoon cumin
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
pinch of onion powder
Lots of ground black pepper
1 tablespoon lime juice

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. In a medium bowl, mix all the ingredients except the garbanzo beans. OK chickpeas, if you will. My cans say garbanzo, but most of the recipes say chickpeas. It will be kind of thick and pasty. If you think it’s too thick, just drizzle in a little more olive oil. I’m not an exact measurer. Toss in the garbanzo beans, and mix around real well to coat. Spread the beans in one layer across a foil-lined baking sheet, and place in oven. Cook for 20 minutes, then remove and mix around and place back in oven. Cook for another 10 or 15 minutes, but check about every five minutes to make sure they aren’t burning, since ovens vary so much. Mine started to get pretty black on the bottom after 30 minutes total so took them out then. Some of them were super crispy like corn nuts, and others were just crispy on the outside but chewy on the inside. I kind of liked the combination. I’ve seen variations of this making them sweet with cinnamon and sugar, and others using fresh herbs such as rosemary. You can really make them with anything! Taco seasoning? Why not? Go treat yourself and make a fun, healthy snack!

4 Responses to “My Recipe is a Food52 Community Pick Candidate!”

  1. richardmcgary June 24, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

    How cool!!!! Congrats to you!!!!!

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger June 24, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

      Thanks Richard! Now I have a week’s worth of recipes in my WP Reader board to catch up on. There’s always some yumminess going on there. 🙂

      Like

  2. loveyourdna June 25, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    Very cool, indeed! I will def make some of these and will try to share ; )

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

