Baked Ziti and Sausage in a Creamy Cheesy White Sauce

18 Aug
Baked Ziti and Sausage in a Creamy Cheesy White Sauce

Baked Ziti and Sausage in a Creamy Cheesy White Sauce

It is really difficult to take a photo of a casserole dish that looks good. And it is really, really difficult to take one when the only chance you had to grab a shot was when there was just a wee portion of it left. That being said, I have this fantastic recipe to share for you of this pasta dish my husband made earlier in the week. Paul is a hero. I’ve been working overtime for the past week and he has cooked every single night! And I’m not talking mac and cheese out of the box or take-out pizza either. Homemade food. Comfort food. Lovely fresh salads with tomatoes and chives from our garden. And this casserole. I just LOVED this meal and ate the leftovers until it was gone, gone, gone.

p.s. After last night’s dinner of grilled New York steak, baked potato, and garden salad, I squeezed the recipe out of him. I would only make minor changes to this if I made it. And I DO plan on cooking this myself when I crawl out of the weeds.

Baked Ziti and Sausage in a Creamy Cheesy White Sauce

2 1/2 cups uncooked Ziti pasta
1/2 pound ground hot Italian sausage
1/4 cup butter
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon Mrs. Dash regular blend
Ground black pepper to taste
2 cups milk (he used 1%)
1/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
1 egg
2 cups cottage cheese (he used 4%)
1 tablespoon fresh chopped parsley
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (he used low fat)
Hungarian paprika, to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook the pasta according to package directions, drain, and set aside. In a skillet, brown the sausage until cooked through thoroughly, drain, and set aside.  In a saucepan, melt the butter and add the garlic. (For future versions, he thought adding some chopped onions and mushrooms at this point would be excellent.)  Stir in the flour, Mrs. Dash, and pepper. Slowly add the milk, whisking constantly, until smooth. Bring up to  a slow boil, and continue whisking until thickened. Take the pan off the heat, then stir in 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese. In a large bowl, add the cooked pasta and pour the cheese sauce over it and stir to coat.  Set aside.

In a small bowl, add the egg, cottage cheese, parsley, the other 1/4 cup of Parmesan, and more Mrs. Dash and black pepper, to taste. Layer about half the pasta/cheese mixture in the bottom of a 2-quart casserole dish sprayed lightly with oil. Pour the cottage cheese mixture over it evenly. Now mix the sausage in with the rest of the pasta then layer that evenly over the casserole. Top with the Mozarella cheese, and shake the paprika evenly over the top, to taste. My husband used a lot of it, which I liked!  Now bake the casserole for 35 minutes or so, until hot and bubbly.  Creamy, comforting food for the weary. ‘Nuff said.

Baked Ziti and Sausage in a Creamy White Sauce 2

Baked Ziti and Sausage in a Creamy White Sauce

Additional notes: I would use 1 cup milk and 1 cup homemade chicken broth instead of all milk for the sauce for a richer flavor. I also liked his idea of adding onions and mushrooms.  Last, I’d probably mix everything up in one bowl instead of doing the layering thing to save both a bowl and time.

10 Responses to “Baked Ziti and Sausage in a Creamy Cheesy White Sauce”

  1. White Pearl August 18, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

    Oh My 😉 The creamy cheesy are the words which can make me hungry anytime 😛 Love this recipe ❤

    Like

  2. anotherfoodieblogger August 18, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    Thank you White Pearl! I do appreciate your comment, I hope you get a chance to make it. 🙂

    Like

  3. richardmcgary August 19, 2013 at 7:46 am #

    The photo looks good to me, as does the dish. 🙂 I would definitely eat this. Nicely done, indeed.

    Like

  4. JeanModelT August 20, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    Hi Kathryn: Do you taste the cottage cheese in it as cottage cheese or does it take on another flavor? Looks very good. Thanks.

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger August 20, 2013 at 11:38 pm #

      Hi Jean, thanks for the comment. No I do not taste any cottage cheese whatsoever as cottage cheese tastes. It all melts into a creamy cheesy sauce. 🙂

      Like

      • JeanModelT August 21, 2013 at 4:37 am #

        I always wondered about that because I hate the taste of cottage cheese alone. ha ha. I plan on making this. Leftovers will be good too. 🙂 Thanks!

        Like

      • anotherfoodieblogger August 22, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

        Great, I hope you enjoy it!

        Like

  5. Sammy July 11, 2016 at 2:16 am #

    I plan on making this but I don’t eat sausage, what would be a good substitute? 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger July 11, 2016 at 11:19 am #

      Hi Sammy, I think cooked ground chicken or turkey would work, but you’d have to add some spices to it so it wouldn’t be so bland. There are also already preseasoned chicken or turkey sausages now available in most grocery stores. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

