Calabacitas (Pork and Zucchini Stew with Tomatillos)

24 Nov

No time for a weekend post so I thought I’d share one of my earlier recipes. This is a great Mexican stew for a cold winter’s meal.

anotherfoodieblogger

My cousin and her son are coming for dinner tonight, and armed with the fact that they like Mexican food I began scouring my recipe books for something to serve other than my stand-by chicken enchiladas. While they are most delicious, I was thinking of something with pork and tomatillos. I adapted this recipe from Lisa Fain’s Homesick Texan Cookbook. It had pork and tomatillos, AND it looked like a good candidate to be cooked in a crock pot instead of over the stove, since I had to prepare it during my lunch break. Calabacitas means zucchini (or little squash) in Spanish, and the traditional stew is cooked with red tomatoes and zucchini. This version uses tomatillos, which are a small green tomato-like fruit. It also has yellow squash along with the zucchini, which coincidentally I had bought last week to take on our trip to the coast but forgot…

View original post 388 more words

2 Responses to “Calabacitas (Pork and Zucchini Stew with Tomatillos)”

  1. Sam Fleming November 24, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

    I”d love to put a spoon thru my computer screen to taste it! OMG—it sounds so fabulous. thanks!

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger November 24, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

      Sam, you are so kind! Thank you! This really is a fabulous stew, so many incredible flavors.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

