Spicy Black Bean and Smoked Sausage Soup

7 May

Spicy Black Bean Soup and Smoked Sausage Soup

Spicy Black Bean Soup and Smoked Sausage Soup


Spring gave us a bit of a teaser last week, but now we are back to chilly, wet weather. So of course my mind thinks of soup when trying to come up with something for dinner. Actually, I make soup year-round, but particularly when mother nature is spitting white stuff out of the sky. Yes, when I was at work yesterday, I looked out and saw white stuff falling from the sky. No fair!

This is pretty much a pantry/freezer meal, which I love because they can be so quick and easy! I had a link of sausage and chipotle peppers in the freezer, and sour cream and even a lime in the fridge! I was very surprised to find no black beans in our pantry, as I almost always have those in stock. I rectified that by asking my husband to pick up four cans of them (so I’d have some in stock when done with this) when he said he was making a run to the store. And the red pepper is  optional, but since he was going to the store…

Slicing Chopping and Mincing All Done

Slicing, Chopping, and Mincing All Done

Well enough of that. Whether you have everything right this minute to make this is irrelevant, only that you SHOULD make this some day, as it was very delicious! If you are still grumbling about the cold weather in your neck of the woods, why not add this recipe to your upcoming meal plan? I’m glad I did! I’m chagrined I made only enough for four servings, as usually I go hog-wild and make a ton of soup with a new recipe, only to find the family didn’t like it.

But my husband really liked this and asked why I didn’t make a larger pot? Oh dear, it’s a lose-lose situation there. And then my poor daughter is coming down with a cold and opted not to eat it after one bite, saying it hurt the back of her throat. Poor thang! She had non-spicy leftovers from last night instead.

A couple of notes first: Canned chipotle chiles in adobo sauce are very spicy! Please don’t make the mistake of using the entire can. Only use ONE chile from the can. Next is I used a fresh herb called “hot and spicy oregano” from my planter pot herb garden. If you don’t have that, you can substitute dried Mexican oregano, which might actually be the same thing as hot and spicy oregano but I haven’t done the research on that yet.

Hot and Spicy Fresh Oregano

Hot and Spicy Fresh Oregano


Spicy Black Bean and Smoked Sausage Soup

3 teaspoons  olive oil, divided
1/2 horseshoe link of smoked sausage, thinly sliced
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup red bell pepper, seeded and diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
Ground black pepper, to taste
1/2 teaspoon fresh hot and spicy oregano, or 1/8 teaspoon dried Mexican
2 15-ounce cans black beans, drained and rinsed
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth, preferably homemade
1 canned chipotle chile in adobo sauce, minced (freeze the rest)
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lime juice
Sour cream and cilantro, for serving

Add one teaspoon of the oil to a skillet over medium heat and cook the sausage slices on both sides until browned. Remove and drain on paper towels and set aside. Add the two teaspoons of oil then cook the chopped onion and bell pepper until softened, about 10 minutes. Add in the minced garlic and spices and cook for about a minute more.

Simmering Vegetables and Spices

Simmering Vegetables and Spices

Next add the mixture to a soup pot or Dutch oven, then the beans, chicken broth (I actually used some turkey broth I found hidden in the back of the freezer from December), the minced chipotle chile, and lime juice. Stir to combine then turn the heat to high to bring to a boil. Once boiling, turn down to simmer for about 10 minutes or so, or longer, to meld the flavors.

Sausages Added to Soup

Sausages Added to Soup

Scoop out about half the soup into a blender or food processor, and blend until smooth. Return to the pot, add the sausage, and cook for a few minutes until simmering again. Serve with a dollop of sour cream and cilantro as garnishes, and whatever other accompaniment you would like. Cornbread or tortilla chips work!

Download and Print this Recipe

Download and Print this Yummy Recipe!

 

4 Responses to “Spicy Black Bean and Smoked Sausage Soup”

  1. Hazel Michalski May 7, 2014 at 9:25 am #

    This looks delicious. I will make this soup tomorrow. I have to pick up a couple ingredients for it. We are having some cool wet days and soup just takes the chill out of the air. I have made quit a few of your wonderful recipes. Keep them comming. ❤

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger May 7, 2014 at 11:17 am #

      Why thank you Hazel for your nice comment! I am glad you are enjoying my recipes. This one comes together quickly. 🙂

      Like

  2. Kathy May 8, 2014 at 9:49 am #

    I love black beans, and I often forget it’s the one bean my family actually eats almost all of without needing to freeze leftovers. Need to cook more often! This looks great!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

