Unorthodox Enfrijoladas

12 Aug
Enfrijoladas Adam Holland

Enfrijoladas ~ photo by Adam J. Holland ~ The Unorthodox Epicure

Well, these are not really unorthodox, they are actually quite authentic. But this new recipe came to me from my good foodie friend Adam J. Holland, who has a most interesting foodie blog called “The Unorthodox Epicure” with a fun sidebar called “Confessions of an Aspiring Food Snob.” He is neither unorthodox nor snobby, that I can tell. But he’s a fellow Texan and cooks some great authentic Tex-Mex as well as authentic Mexican food, therefore he’s OK in my book, ya heah????

I made these last night, and hoo-boy, were they delicious! My entire family enjoyed them. It took hardly any prep time and cooked up pretty darn quick. That’s a win-win in my book! I halved the recipe since there are only three of us, but it still ended up making 8 Enfrijoladas (although I did add both grilled chicken AND cheese to the insides of them). There was one left in the end. All thumbs up. Thank you Adam!

I did take some initial prep photos thinking I might actually do a blog with my own photos on this, but a crazy thunderstorm rolled through as we were cooking this all outside on the propane burner/grill, so by the time we got it all moved inside there was no time with a hungry family to do any more foodie shots after having do all that and preheat the oven.

So sit right back, click on the link below, and enjoy his blog and recipe:

The Unorthodox Epicure Enfrijoladas Recipe

14 Responses to “Unorthodox Enfrijoladas”

  1. Conor Bofin August 13, 2014 at 5:59 am #

    Adam J does some great stuff. He has disappeared from my radar. I must look him up.
    Best,
    Conor

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger August 13, 2014 at 8:35 am #

      I know, he doesn’t show up on my WP reader board anymore. I occasionally catch his posts on Facebook, instead. You should go find him again!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Adam J. Holland August 13, 2014 at 3:23 pm #

        You are very kind to give me all of the credit. Fact is, you cooked it and your family enjoyed it. (I’m not sure whether my family enjoyed, because I took the ‘photo’ plate to my studio and started shooting under the lights!) โ€” Please come on over to the blog and register. I lost every one of my 13 followers when I switched from WP to a self-hosted blog. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

        Like

      • anotherfoodieblogger August 13, 2014 at 6:08 pm #

        Hi Adam again. I can’t seem to “follow” you anymore on WordPress though. I see options for Facebook, Twitter, etc, but no option to follow on WordPress. I think that is the issue. I do follow you on Facebook but their analytics are a little wonky and half the time I don’t see your new posts unless I specifically either go to your FB page or directly to your blog. Maybe you are missing some kind of WordPress link/button to follow over there? Either way, I am delighted to find your posts when I do!

        Like

  2. Michelle Williams August 13, 2014 at 8:22 am #

    As a Texan living in Texas this looks delicious and something I think I may try. Thank you. Cheers!

    Like

  3. Juliette Kings August 13, 2014 at 8:22 am #

    Reblogged this on West Coast Review and commented:
    Yum. A beautiful dish. Imagine fixing this with a nice bottle of dry white wine, or your favorite microbrew and taking it out on the deck to dine on a summer evening. This is could be both a “date night” and a “family night” meal.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Juliette Kings August 13, 2014 at 8:23 am #

    I’ll be adding this to the weekend agenda. Beautiful photo!

    Liked by 2 people

    • anotherfoodieblogger August 13, 2014 at 8:36 am #

      Thank you Juliette, although the credit goes to Adam J. for that one. ๐Ÿ™‚ I appreciate the reblog too!

      Like

    • Adam J. Holland August 13, 2014 at 3:24 pm #

      Thank you Juliette for your kind words. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. Adam J. Holland August 13, 2014 at 3:21 pm #

    Thanks, Conor. Back in December I went the self-hosted route. (My attempt at becoming rich and famous w/o the help of WordPress.. Go figure.) I’m still at http://www.unorthodoxepicure.com. If you’ll come visit and register (again), I’ll be back on your radar. โ€” Again, thanks for your kind words.

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger August 13, 2014 at 6:12 pm #

      Ohhhh, so you are not on WordPress at all anymore! Maybe that’s why I got so confuzzled. So I guess I need to sign up for email notifications. Facebook is NO HELP at all in gaining you the well-deserved notoriety unless you want to pay them some dollars for the privilege to have your posts seen in people’s newsfeeds… I’ll go sign up now. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. tinywhitecottage August 19, 2014 at 11:27 am #

    I’m a little late on seeing this post but, oh my, I’m going to have to make these. They look delicious! I’ll go check out Adam J. Holland’s post…

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger August 19, 2014 at 12:13 pm #

      Yes, please do check him out. These are absolutely delicious! Thank you for your comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

