Oktoberfest Brown Butter Noodles

15 Oct
Oktoberfest Brown Butter Noodles

Oktoberfest Brown Butter Noodles

My office held an Oktoberfest potluck for lunch this week, and I brought this side dish to the event. The company provided bratwurst and sauerkraut with spicy brown mustard, while the employees brought German side dishes. Oh, and they also served root beer. (Hey, it was lunchtime! I doubt we’d have many productive employees the rest of the day if they served German beer!)

This is a quick and easy dish and makes a great side to almost any meal! Since unsalted butter is used and there isn’t much else to add flavor, you will definitely need to season it up with salt and pepper, and perhaps even some Parmesan cheese if you like. Brown butter is traditionally (in Germany) served with Spaetzle, but I used pasta as a shortcut since I had to make this after our dinner the night before the potluck. No time for making dough and rolling out little Spaetzles! I used the cute Gemelli pasta instead, but you can use any pasta shape you want for this.

Oktoberfest Brown Butter Noodles

1 package (8 ounces) dried pasta (any shape)
1 stick unsalted butter (8 tablespoons) plus 1 tablespoon reserved
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 slices stale bread, processed into coarse crumbs (about 3/4 cup, reserve 1/4 cup)
Salt and pepper to taste
Dried or fresh parsley, for garnish
Grated Parmesan cheese, for serving (optional)

Cook the noodles according to package directions in a large saucepan. Drain and return to the pot and set aside.

 

Cooked Gemelli Noodles

Cooked Gemelli Noodles

Heat the butter in a small saucepan over medium-high heat, stirring constantly. After a few minutes, add the chopped onion. Continue stirring until the butter is brown, about another 4 to 7 minutes depending on your stove. Watch carefully as you don’t want to let it burn! Burnt butter is gross. Brown butter is nutty and yummy. Once a nutty brown color, remove from heat immediately and add 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs. Stir to combine.

Browning the Butter

Browning the Butter ~ Note: It is almost impossible to get a photo of your butter when it starts to turn brown, because if you pause at that stage to snap a photo, you will burn your butter!

 

Pour the butter/breadcrumb mixture over the noodles. Add salt and pepper to taste and stir until well-combined.

 

Gemelli Noodles with Brown Butter Breadcrumb and Onion Mixture

Gemelli Noodles with Brown Butter Breadcrumb and Onion Mixture

Add the noodle mixture to a lightly oil-sprayed casserole dish and set aside. Melt the remaining 1 tablespoon of butter in the small saucepan and add the remaining 1/4 cup of breadcrumbs and mix. Distribute evenly over the casserole and garnish with parsley (if dried). Place dish in oven and broil for about 5 minutes until the topping is browned slightly. Remove and either serve immediately with fresh parsley garnish and Parmesan cheese (optional), or cover and refrigerate to eat later. This can be reheated either in the oven or a microwave, but if you microwave the breadcrumb topping will not be as crunchy.

Download and Print this Recipe

Download and Print this Yummy Recipe!

 

 

18 Responses to “Oktoberfest Brown Butter Noodles”

  1. Juliette Kings October 15, 2014 at 7:40 pm #

    Reblogged this on West Coast Review and commented:
    I had to reblog this. Yum. Easy to make too. This is what we’re having this weekend.

    Like

  2. anotherfoodieblogger October 15, 2014 at 9:26 pm #

    Thank you Juliette, aka Vampire Maman wonderful blogger you! I do appreciate the share. 🙂

    Like

  3. Gerlinde October 16, 2014 at 4:51 am #

    Kathryn, that is so appropriate for Octoberfest. In southern Germany the leftover spätzels ( homemade noodles) are prepared like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 16, 2014 at 7:18 pm #

      Thank you Gerlinde! I guess I used the Americanized spelling of spätzels. I have never made homemade noodles, but I bet they are great!

      Like

      • Gerlinde October 16, 2014 at 10:31 pm #

        Your spelling is fine, I should have capitalized Spaetzel. I made Spaetzels years ago but was not impressed with the results. Maybe one day I’ll try again.

        Liked by 1 person

      • anotherfoodieblogger October 16, 2014 at 10:49 pm #

        Since I’ve never made any type of homemade pasta, I’m afraid I have no advice on that! It wasn’t the capitalization, it was that your comment put some characters over the “a” letter. Maybe you are using a computer translator? Either way, I always appreciate comments, so thank you! 🙂

        Like

  4. milkandbun October 17, 2014 at 10:26 am #

    Mmm yummy! Love both noodles and pasta!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Underground Writer October 18, 2014 at 7:35 am #

    This looks like some major comfort food!

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 18, 2014 at 10:07 am #

      It totally was, thank you for the comment! I stirred in some leftover spaghetti sauce to the leftover noodles and BAM! Another instant meal! 🙂

      Like

      • The Underground Writer October 18, 2014 at 10:28 am #

        Nice!! I would have never thought of doing something like that. But then again, I catch potatoes on fire when I try to cook them in the microwave (true story).

        Liked by 1 person

      • anotherfoodieblogger October 18, 2014 at 10:31 am #

        Oh my! And thanks for the Charmin post over at your site. It had me laughing!

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Underground Writer October 18, 2014 at 10:33 am #

        When I saw the Charmin at the grocery store I did a double take and thought, “scented toilet paper? You. Have. GOT. To. Be. Kidding. Me.” I am thrilled it made you laugh. I had fun writing it! (And taking the pictures. My kids were like, “Uh, mom? What are you doing with the toilet paper?”)

        Liked by 1 person

      • anotherfoodieblogger October 18, 2014 at 10:36 am #

        😀

        Like

  6. kahht October 18, 2014 at 9:11 am #

    Oh my goodness, that sounds like such an amazing gathering! I’m surprised how simple the dish is, it looks so beautiful in the pictures, you wouldn’t think it takes so few ingredients and can be made with such ease. I’ll have to try this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 18, 2014 at 10:03 am #

      Well hello Kat! Thank you for your nice comment. We had a great time, except the grill was stolen that night off the back deck at my work. We left it out to grill the two leftover packages of brats and someone had the audacity to snitch it! I have followed your blog on WordPress. We have potlucks at work at least four or five times a year and I’m always looking for new ideas!

      Like

      • kahht October 18, 2014 at 10:16 am #

        Never cool when people take things. I hope you find some inspiring recipes on my blog, you’ll have to let me know what you try.

        Liked by 1 person

      • anotherfoodieblogger October 18, 2014 at 10:31 am #

        I certainly will!

        Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

