Potato and Spinach Soup with Bacon and Jalapeño

3 Jan
Potato and Spinach Soup with Bacon and Jalapeño

Potato and Spinach Soup with Bacon and Jalapeño

When I served this soup to my husband for dinner last week, he exclaimed “What is this? You are serving me Klingon Grog!” in some strange accent that certainly wasn’t Klingon. I was pretty sure it was Klingon blood that is green, not their grog, but I just laughed him off and told him to eat his soup. (After further research, it turns out they do have a green grog, but their main drink is blood red. I digress…)

We were in the midst of a pretty crazy snowstorm that dumped almost 8 inches on us (we were supposed to only get one inch, but it just kept coming!) so I had to make do with what we had on hand for dinner. I had some potatoes, a half-pound bag of frozen spinach, and a half of a fresh jalepeño left from making Carne Guisada the day before.

After a little Googling, I found this amazing recipe for soup with those ingredients. It also called for bacon, and much to my surprise I found three frozen uncooked strips in the freezer. Wow, that made my day.

I halved the recipe, since there are only three of us, but this can easily be doubled. Yes, this is a vibrant green soup, but it is delicious, filling, and even guest-worthy. And you only get a very mild taste of jalapeño, with no spiciness at all that I could tell. The jalapeño gave it an added depth of taste. It would also be a great first course when entertaining dinner guests, plus it is very easy to make with few ingredients.

Potato and Spinach Soup with Bacon and Jalapeño
Adapted from The Nourished Kitchen cookbook

3 strips bacon, diced
1 teaspoon butter
1 teaspoon reserved bacon grease
1/2 cup diced onion
1/2 large jalapeño, seeded and minced
1 pound potatoes, peeled and chopped
4 to 6 cups homemade or low-sodium chicken broth
8 ounces fresh or frozen spinach, thawed
Sour cream, for serving

Prepping the Veggies

Prepping the Veggies

Cook bacon in a Dutch oven or stockpot until browned and crispy. Remove, drain on paper towels and set aside. Drain all but about one teaspoon of the grease from the pot. Add 1 teaspoon of butter, then stir in the onion and jalapeño and cook until the onion is translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the potato chunks, then give it a good mix.

Veggies Ready for Chicken Broth

Veggies Ready for Chicken Broth

Pour in the chicken broth, cover, and bring to a simmer. Simmer for about 30 minutes, or until the potatoes are cooked through all the way. Stir in the spinach and bacon (reserving some bacon for garnish), and simmer another 5 minutes. (If using fresh spinach, simmer until it wilts.)

Simmering Soup

Simmering Soup

Puree the soup with an immersion blender (I don’t have one) or in batches in a blender or food processor until completely smooth. Serve the soup with a dollop of sour cream and bacon pieces as additional garnish. You may salt to taste at this point, but the bacon and sour cream made it plenty salty for our tastes.

Now I just have to show you lame attempt at making pretty swirlies with the sour cream. Luckily I reserved extra bacon in case this didn’t work out. Obviously it didn’t. It looks like some kind of morph between a snail and a beetle! I’m afraid food styling is not my biggest strength as a food blogger. 😀

Sour Cream Garnish FAIL

Sour Cream Garnish FAIL

Download and Print this Recipe

Download and Print this Yummy Recipe!

14 Responses to “Potato and Spinach Soup with Bacon and Jalapeño”

  1. Adam J. Holland January 3, 2015 at 10:05 am #

    Looks fun and soothing. Would go really well with blood wine. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. teagan geneviene January 3, 2015 at 1:10 pm #

    There’s nothing better than a gorgeous hot soup on the first weekend of the new year. (Especially when it’s cold and raining!) Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sam Fleming January 3, 2015 at 2:15 pm #

    Sounds nummy! green and all.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bonita Lyon January 3, 2015 at 8:31 pm #

    Dang!! I can almost taste this one! Definitely one to try! Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 3, 2015 at 8:58 pm #

      Thanks Bonita, I hope you do. The jalapeno sounds weird but it adds so much flavor with not much spiciness at all with that much broth and vegetables. 🙂

      Like

  5. Stacy January 4, 2015 at 9:47 am #

    Food styling is the bane of my existence as well, Kathryn. But, you know what? I’d rather have a delicious dish that isn’t picture perfect than something gorgeous that doesn’t taste good. And I’ll bet this green gem of a bowlful is tasty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 4, 2015 at 9:50 am #

      Oh that is so kind of you to say Stacy… yes, this is quite tasty! I just love your couscous fish dish recipe you posted. It’s on my “list!”

      Like

  6. iamrorykelly January 5, 2015 at 6:43 am #

    This looks pretty stunning – I realy like the idea of Jalapeno in a soup!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My Little ROCK March 23, 2015 at 5:03 am #

    This looks so good! I love your recipes!!!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

