Dehydrated Jalapeños

17 Oct
Dehydrated Jalapenos

Dehydrated Jalapenos

This post is dedicated in loving memory to one of my cyber-foodie friends, who passed away on October 9th. I was a follower of his food blog REMCooks, and cybernetically he was one of the kindest and sincere bloggers who loved both his family and cooking with the greatest of passion. Richard McGary was also very passionate about any kind of chile peppers. He loved to cook with any type of chile, and his blog has many recipes made with a variety of spicy hot peppers.

The idea to dry the jalapeños that were harvested from my jalapeño plant this year also came about by another food blogger who actually got to meet Richard once for a weekend of food and fun, Mimi from Chef Mimi Blog. After roasting and freezing some batches of Hatch and serrano chiles, I thought it would be neat to also have some dehydrated chiles on hand for soups, stews, and salad toppings.

This is not really so much a recipe, but a method. Here is what I did:

Dehydrated Jalapeños

You can either harvest your own jalapeno plant, or simply buy some from the store. I actually had a mix of red (ripe) jalepeños, standard dark green ones, and some that were in the process of turning red left on my plant at harvest time. I like that I had the different colors for this.

Huge Jalapenos

My Jalapeño Plant

Make sure you wear latex gloves or plastic sandwich bags over your hands, and whatever you do, don’t touch your face or eyes in this process!

First I sliced all the peppers thinly into rounds. I didn’t bother de-seeding them, as most of the seeds will fall down into the pan in the drying process.

Jalapeno Slices

Jalapeño Slices

The pepper slices were then arranged on a parchment-paper lined baking sheet, and placed into an oven set at 180 degrees. You might want to do this on a day you can open your windows, as after about an hour the house will get pretty spicy! Which of course did not bother me at all.

Jalapenos at the Start of Drying Process

Jalapeños at the Start of Drying Process

I left them in the oven until they were all completely dried out. This took about 2 1/2 hours. I would check them every half hour or so after the first hour to make sure they weren’t getting too crisp. You will want to make sure they are “dry” to the touch and have no wetness left in them at all.

Jalapenos Drying Out

Jalapenos Drying Out ~ This was about halfway through the process

When completely dried, I took them out of the oven and let them cool. I then poured the dried pepper slices into a cute half-pint jelly jar to store throughout the fall and winter. There! I’ve already used some in some black-eyed peas that I made for lunch one day. They rehydrate nicely when cooked in liquid, but would also be fun to add as a crunchy topping to taco salad.

And p.s. Richard, I hope you are in chile paradise wherever you are!

36 Responses to “Dehydrated Jalapeños”

  1. teagan geneviene October 17, 2015 at 12:15 pm #

    Oh Kathryn, I’m sorry for the loss of your friend. The fact that we can’t reach out and physically touch a friend doesn’t make them any less dear.
    This is a great idea for your bountiful harvest of peppers. The photos are beautiful too. Mega hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 17, 2015 at 12:22 pm #

      Thank you so much Teagan, that is so very true. And your 79 words on your blog are fantastic! Hugs back!

      Liked by 1 person

      • teagan geneviene October 17, 2015 at 12:54 pm #

        You’re so kind. Thank you Kathryn. Time to start thinking about dinner, but my tummy just went haywire, so I guess I’ll avoid those lovely peppers. :mrgreen: Have a wonder-filled weekend.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. jack zalewski October 17, 2015 at 12:28 pm #

    Thanks to you, I am seriously thinking about growing chiles. Sounds like something I can handle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 17, 2015 at 12:31 pm #

      You should try it Jack! I got kind of lucky this year because typically the growing season is too short in Central Oregon to grow chile peppers. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. tinywhitecottage October 17, 2015 at 1:25 pm #

    Lovely post Kathryn. Very nice you dedicated a post to Richard…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. chef mimi October 17, 2015 at 2:54 pm #

    Aren’t they fabulous? I use them all the time!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gerlinde /Sunnycovechef October 17, 2015 at 4:36 pm #

    As soon as I get home I will buy some chiles and hydrate them, what a great idea. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Stacy October 18, 2015 at 3:29 am #

    What a great idea, Kathryn! I’d love to have a jar of these to toss into soups and stews and chili. They are very pretty with the mix of colors.

    My condolences on the loss of your friend. I have many cyber friends who have become real friends through the miracle that is the internet. Real doesn’t necessarily mean we’ve enjoyed their company in person, just that we have enjoyed spending time with them and getting to know them. So virtually counts for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Conor Bofin October 18, 2015 at 4:25 am #

    Kathryn, that is a very sensitive and appropriate post. I would like to think Richard is smiling at the prospect of the lovely dishes you will make with these. Richard’s passing has had a big impact on many people. Some of whom he has never met in person. I will write something over the next while.
    Best,
    Conor

    Liked by 2 people

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 18, 2015 at 9:16 am #

      Thank you so much Conor. I am sure you will have both fun and sensitivity with your post, as I know you and Richard also shared a passion for great pouring shots. Take care. xoxo

      Liked by 2 people

  8. chefconnie October 18, 2015 at 6:59 am #

    I did not know about Richard passing. I have not been blogging much this year. So sad he was such a great guy. Thanks for this lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Adam J. Holland October 18, 2015 at 9:31 am #

    Oh my. I had not heard about Richard’s passing. He was not only a great guy, but an outstanding cook. Your tribute is very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. StefanGourmet October 18, 2015 at 1:36 pm #

    What better to honor Richard than a post about chiles!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. MealsWithMel October 18, 2015 at 7:22 pm #

    Oh WOW!! Totally in love with this recipe Kathryn!! Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Karen October 21, 2015 at 1:29 pm #

    I know Richard would be delighted with this post and tribute.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. D. Wallace Peach October 21, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

    So sorry to hear about your friend. A lovely tribute to another foodie. Thanks for idea here. I dry a lot of food and never thought of adding jalapenos to the list.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Fareeha October 23, 2015 at 12:24 pm #

    Hi, Wow! I’m thinking that you really should do a video tutorial, your jalapeno is amazing. Would love to be your neighbor.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Cooking For The Time Challenged December 26, 2015 at 4:29 pm #

    So kind and thoughtful of you to honor his memory.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. bhumi March 14, 2016 at 10:41 pm #

    very nice post…

    Liked by 1 person

  17. NoPlateLikeHome.com February 2, 2017 at 9:18 am #

    I’ve nominated you and your beautiful blog for the Blogger Recognition Award. I love your blog!
    https://noplatelikehome.com/blogger-recognition-award/

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

