Roasted Pattypan Squash and Baby Boomer Potatoes

24 Oct
Roasted Pattypan Squash and Baby Boomer Potatoes

Roasted Pattypan Squash and Baby Boomer Potatoes

This post is a bit dated since it is now mid-October and most people’s gardens are pretty much spent by now, but I’m only just now getting around to it. But, if you are still lucky enough to have some fresh squash in your area…

Our kind neighbor gave us some home-grown pattypan squash, and the only thing I could think to do with it besides soup was to roast it. I went to the store to buy some fingerling potatoes to go with them, but the bin was flat out. Then I spied this bag of Baby Boomer Potatoes. Not sure what that has to do with my generation (yah, I’m old) but they were the perfect size, and the bag said “great for roasting.” I’m in!

This was a perfectly simple side dish paired with some marinated grilled pork chops. I mixed in some fresh dill, then just roasted the heck out of them until they looked beautifully crisp on the outside (and were wonderfully creamy on the inside.)

Not your everyday side dish, but it’s a great way to use up your or your neighbor’s harvest! I hope you enjoy.

Pattypan Squash from Neighbor

Pattypan Squash from Neighbor

Roasted Pattypan Squash and Baby Boomer Potatoes

1 pound pattypan (or other) squash
1 pound small potatoes (Baby Boomers or otherwise)
1 to 2 tablespoons olive oil to coat
Fresh chopped dill
Salt, pepper, and any other seasonings, to taste

Dill-Seasoned Vegetables

Dill-Seasoned Vegetables

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut the pattypan squash into chunks to match your potato size, to ensure even roasting. Place the squash and potatoes into a bowl, and pour over some olive oil and mix around to distribute evenly. Add the chopped fresh dill, then season with salt, pepper, and any other seasonings, to taste.

Pour bowl of veggies onto a lightly oil-sprayed baking sheet, then evenly distribute them in one layer.

Vegetables in Oven for Roasting

Vegetables in Oven for Roasting

Roast in oven for about 40 minutes, turning over halfway through. Just keep an eye on them in the last half hour and remove if getting too dark.

We served this with grilled marinated pork, but it would go pretty much with any protein of choice.

Download and Print this Recipe

Download and Print this Yummy Recipe!

 

 

26 Responses to “Roasted Pattypan Squash and Baby Boomer Potatoes”

  1. teagan geneviene October 24, 2015 at 11:41 am #

    Oh it does sound like something that would go well with pork. I’m intrigued by the dill — I wouldn’t have thought of that.
    I haven’t seen patty-pan squash in ages! I loved it. My family used to lightly dredge it in cornmeal and pan fry it. Lovely post, Kathryn. Huge hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Adam J. Holland October 24, 2015 at 12:27 pm #

    These squash might be out of season in some places, but not where I am! This looks comfy and delicious. Hell to the yeah! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 24, 2015 at 12:48 pm #

      LOL thanks Adam, but by the looks of the radar in Texas, all the squash fields might be under water soon!

      Like

  3. tinywhitecottage October 24, 2015 at 12:42 pm #

    Great idea to roast squash with potatoes. I’m in! Nice that you added dill too. Great recipe Kathryn.

    Like

  4. Conor Bofin October 25, 2015 at 12:56 am #

    Looks very satisfying. I was struck by the daft name of the potatoes. Madness or genius?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Michelle Williams October 25, 2015 at 1:13 pm #

    Ive never even heard of Pattypan potatoes. Now I must find some. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sheryl October 25, 2015 at 7:39 pm #

    I really like pattypan squash, but I never saw any at my local farmer’s market this year. They apparently are not particularly popular around here. Hopefully I’ll have better luck finding them next year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 25, 2015 at 10:43 pm #

      I hope so too! I didn’t even know it was grown around here until my neighbor gave it to me out of his garden.

      Like

  7. chef mimi October 26, 2015 at 1:51 pm #

    A wonderful combination!!! Where I live I get zucchini and yellow squash, butternut, and spaghetti. I guess i’m lucky to even get those!

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 26, 2015 at 6:13 pm #

      I know you have a hard time finding unique vegetables in your area. Just keep an eye out as best you can, Mimi! I typically don’t see these in the store but the neighbor grew them.

      Like

  8. Gerlinde/ Sunnycovechef October 26, 2015 at 8:56 pm #

    I love those cute little pattypan squashes but I never roasted them with potatoes. What a great idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 26, 2015 at 10:28 pm #

      Thank you Gerlinde! I got an email about your newest post earlier today, I better go check it out!

      Like

  9. Lynz Real Cooking October 30, 2015 at 8:22 pm #

    I like the potatoes, squash and dill! A sure winner!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Cooking For The Time Challenged December 26, 2015 at 4:28 pm #

    I am sold! Looks great!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Smashed Roasted Little Potatoes | anotherfoodieblogger - December 27, 2015

    […] Terrific Trio. If you are a follower of my blog you may recall the Baby Boomer variety I used in my Roasted Pattypan Squash and Potatoes […]

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

