Giving Thanks

28 Nov

Mom and Dad in Back BracesForgive my absence these past couple of weeks. My parents are here visiting from Texas, and on November 19 they were in a single-car accident which left them both with fractured vertebrae.

After being released from the hospital, they moved into our home, as they are not able to climb the stairs to their second-floor condo that does not have a public elevator. (ADA, where are you???) Plus neither one can help each other get in and out of bed and with “those other necessities.”

I’m glad to say that they will both recuperate with time, and have been cleared to fly back to their home in Texas next Friday. I have a lot of planning to do to get them home with wheelchair assistance on the flights as well as in-home full-time care when they get back.

They are both in different back braces (mom’s fracture was T-12, dad’s was L-1) and mom is using a cane and dad a walker.)

I am giving thanks that they were not hurt more seriously in the crash, and that we have had the flexibility to alter our work schedules to care for them full-time in this interim.

I am giving thanks that I was also able to host a full-on Thanksgiving dinner for 12 special people in my life without having a complete melt-down and didn’t even forget the dinner rolls or cranberry sauce.

I am giving thanks for readers like you, who will hang with me in the interim. I’m hoping in another week or two to begin sharing more recipes made with love from my household.

I love you Mom and Dad! ❤

Thank you! ~ Kathryn

 

29 Responses to “Giving Thanks”

  1. Donna DWDinAtlanta November 28, 2015 at 10:45 pm #

    Bless their hearts Kathryn!!! So glad your thanksgiving went well. Praying that your parents make it home and get settled without much trouble. Bless you for being there for them and making sure they get back home safely!!! Praying for you during this rough patch. I’m sure you will be back to food blogging soon. HUGS

    Liked by 2 people

  2. anyone4curryandotherthings November 28, 2015 at 10:51 pm #

    OmG Kathryn – what you all must have gone through! I pray that your parents get back into their own home safely and that they will recover pretty soon.
    You just take care of them and of yourself – don’t worry about your readers here – we will wait – just come back! Carina

    Liked by 2 people

    • anotherfoodieblogger November 28, 2015 at 11:20 pm #

      Wow thank you Carina for your kind thoughts and words! It’s been quite a trial with another week left. I’ll be back though!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Gerlinde November 29, 2015 at 2:07 am #

    Kathryn, take care of yourself and your parents and don’t worry about us. I hope your parents recover soon . They must be so thankful for all your help and care.
    Sending you hugs
    Gerlinde

    Liked by 2 people

  4. teagan geneviene November 29, 2015 at 3:34 am #

    Kathryn… You are a wonder. To be honest, I would have had a meltdown long before dinner — let alone Thanksgiving dinner. I commend you for your strength, patience, and loving heart. Sending healing thoughts to your parents. Love, Light, and hugs to everyone. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Adam J. Holland November 29, 2015 at 5:07 am #

    I think, after reading this, I’ve realized why I like you so much. I’ve always known you to be kind and generous, but now I also know you to see the world for what it is, and you embrace the positives. (Plus, you’re a good daughter!) ~ Your parents appear to have that same demeanor in that photo, so the apple apparently hasn’t fallen far from the tree. Keep on keeping on, Kathryn. You have a huge fan down here by the bay. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • anotherfoodieblogger November 29, 2015 at 4:21 pm #

      Oh thank you so much Adam, you are so kind. You know I am your number 14 fan! 😉

      Like

  6. Michelle Williams November 29, 2015 at 9:52 am #

    Oh your poor sweet mom and dad! Such a blessing they are both healing and will be able to fly home next week. I am sure this has been a long week for you! Continued prayers for healing and peace.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Lynz Real Cooking November 29, 2015 at 6:50 pm #

    I am so glad they were not hurt worst and that you are able to help them, what a blessing! I am happy you were able to host Thanksgiving!!! you are one amazing person. I sure hope they get back and settled in safe and sound!! xoxo

    Liked by 2 people

    • anotherfoodieblogger November 29, 2015 at 6:52 pm #

      Thank you Lynn so much! After reading all the stories of your time in Saudi with that many kids, this must be a cakewalk! I have told you before that I truly admire your tenacity. Love and hugs to you! xoxo back at you! ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  8. ChgoJohn November 30, 2015 at 9:48 pm #

    So sorry to read of your parents’ accident and how fortunate that you were there for them. It’s certainly good to see that their recovery is moving along so well. This must have been a very meaningful Thanksgiving for you all. Rightfully so.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Conor Bofin December 1, 2015 at 9:15 am #

    Kathryn, my apologies for the very late comment. I have not been reading any blogs in the past couple of weeks. I have been chasing my tail around the place in advance of Christmas. My heartfelt sympathy to your family. I hope they are both feeling better and on the road to recovery.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. StefanGourmet December 7, 2015 at 11:25 am #

    I apologize for the late comment as well. Hope your parents are feeling better by now!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Karen December 9, 2015 at 7:26 am #

    I was so sorry to hear of your parents accident. I can certainly understand why you were so thankful that it wasn’t worse and that you were there to help them. Thank goodness they had you to get them through the worst of it…they have to be counting their blessings for having such a lovely daughter. I’m happy that they are home now and getting better each day.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. D. Wallace Peach December 15, 2015 at 9:10 pm #

    Oh, what a terrible accident. They’re fortunate that they’re going to be okay and lucky to have you. Your amazing to have provided care and cooked a Thanksgiving meal for 12. Hope all is back to normal now 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Cooking For The Time Challenged December 26, 2015 at 4:26 pm #

    I agree with everything above! Your parents are fortunate to have such a wonderful daughter who is willing and able to take care of them! Thank God, they were able to recover.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

