Smashed Roasted Little Potatoes

27 Dec
Smashed Roasted Little Potatoes

Smashed Roasted Little Potatoes

This is not so much a recipe as a “method” that I picked up off of Pinterest, which has been making the rounds again for these yummy ‘taters. I made these for Christmas dinner, but did the prep the day before so all I had to do was brush with oil and season them before popping into the oven while our prime rib roast “rested.” I also made creamed spinach for dinner (recipe to come later) and that turned out pretty darned yummy too!

The potatoes I used were from The Little Potato Company, and I’ve fallen in love with their small potato varieties! No I am not endorsed by them in any way, it’s just that their potatoes are so delicious! The variety I used this time was called the Terrific Trio. If you are a follower of my blog you may recall the Baby Boomer variety I used in my Roasted Pattypan Squash and Potatoes recipe.

Uncooked Little Potatoes

Uncooked Little Potatoes ~ Just look at these beauties!

Now I made 1.5 pounds of these little suckers for the three of us, and there was a meager half-serving left! I’m thinking that attests to how good my family enjoyed these potatoes, and I hope you do too!

Smashed Roasted Little Potatoes

1.5 pounds of little potatoes, any variety
Infused olive oil, for brushing (I used Mediterranean Garlic)
Seasonings and black pepper, to taste (I used a wee bit of salt and Mrs. Dash with the pepper)

Boil the potatoes covered with one inch of water until just tender (don’t overcook). This took about 15 minutes after the water came to a boil. Drain.

Lay a clean kitchen towel down and one at a time remove a potato to the towel with tongs. Using a folded up washcloth, smash the potato down gently with the palm of your hand. Some will fall apart a bit but don’t worry about that.

Smashing the Cooked Potatoes

Smashing the Cooked Potatoes

Once all the ‘taters are smashed, arrange them in one layer on a parchment-lined baking sheet using a spatula. At this point you can continue with the recipe or cover them with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight or until ready to cook.

Smashed Potatoes Ready to Cook

Smashed Potatoes Ready to Cook

Once you are ready to cook them, preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Brush the potatoes on one side with an infused (or plain) good quality olive oil of choice, then sprinkle on the seasonings, to taste. Gently flip them to the other side and brush with more oil and add seasonings. Again, don’t worry if they fall apart a bit. The crispy bits are delightful!

Seasoned and Oiled Smashed Potatoes

Seasoned and Oiled Smashed Potatoes

Place in preheated oven for 30 minutes, flipping over gently at the halfway mark. Serve immediately. Where are the leftovers?

Download and Print this Recipe

Download and Print this Yummy Recipe!

42 Responses to “Smashed Roasted Little Potatoes”

  1. teagan geneviene December 27, 2015 at 8:37 am #

    Tee-hee! I never thought I’d apply this word to a potato, but they’re adorably smashed! Look delicious too. This is a useful and fun post Kathryn. And it’s my lunch time so now I’m Jonesing for potatoes. πŸ˜€ Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cheryl "Cheffie Cooks" Wiser December 27, 2015 at 8:56 am #

    Yum love potatoes any way I can make them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michelle Williams December 27, 2015 at 9:56 am #

    I have never tried smashing potatoes. It looks delicious. Thanks for the new tip! Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lynz Real Cooking December 27, 2015 at 10:03 am #

    I love potatoes and these sound fun and delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lana-Once Upon a Spice December 27, 2015 at 10:45 am #

    MMMmm! Comforting potatoes! Looks like they are filled with deep, delicious flavors!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gerlinde @ Sunncovechef December 27, 2015 at 7:47 pm #

    I love these potates, I’m going to make them soon with my green sauce. Yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger December 27, 2015 at 8:25 pm #

      Oooh yumm, the potatoes would go perfect with a green sauce! Thank you Gerlinde for stopping by. XOXO

      Like

  7. Cooking For The Time Challenged December 28, 2015 at 5:21 am #

    This is up my alley! Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lina December 28, 2015 at 5:36 am #

    Potatoes are my all time favourite..good recipe☺☺

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Karen December 28, 2015 at 5:40 am #

    I’ve got some of those little potatoes in my pantry…thanks for the inspiration. I hope you had a terrific Christmas. All my best for the new year and congratulations on your five years of blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger December 28, 2015 at 8:12 am #

      Thank you so much Karen! We had a very nice White Christmas. I hope you had a fabulous “tropical” Christmas! πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. iamrorykelly December 28, 2015 at 8:36 am #

    Never, ever would have considered this Kathryn! looks brilliant- I love it when this happens – thank you… something interested and new learned today x

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Smiling Notes December 28, 2015 at 1:51 pm #

    this looks so delicious! πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. New Journey December 28, 2015 at 7:42 pm #

    Perfect. I needed a different way to cook my taters….I am doing a pork roast on New Years Eve and these will go perfectly…thanks…kat

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger December 28, 2015 at 7:59 pm #

      Oh! So glad to be of help! Yes, coming up with a new side potato dish is hard these days. I don’t know how many will be there, but we pretty much demolished 1.5 pound between three people. Unless you have a lot of sides, you might need two trays of them! Thank you for your comment. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Linda December 29, 2015 at 9:24 am #

    Looks delicious! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. cookingwithauntjuju.com December 30, 2015 at 3:32 am #

    I love to use these different potatoes as it makes for a more interesting side and pretty too! Any veggie roasted is always good – I should have made these last night – next time πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  15. D. Wallace Peach January 1, 2016 at 1:15 pm #

    Fun and yummy for sure πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. ChgoJohn January 3, 2016 at 6:47 am #

    This was one of my favorite ways for preparing potatoes but, for whatever reason, I stopped making them. Thank you for the reminder. This is truly a delicious way to serve spuds. I’m going to pin it in the hopes that I won’t forget about it again, We’ll see …

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 3, 2016 at 9:32 am #

      Oh John, you really should start making them again! I don’t know why I took so long to try this method, they are the best!

      Like

  17. weebluemixer February 18, 2016 at 2:33 am #

    I make these! We love them. But I tend just to use any size tatties and cut them into smaller chunks. Then using a potato masher to smush them down, cover them with oil and salt. My hubbie works on a farm which grows few varieties of organic tatties, so we tend to use these and have found the variety called Nicola is the best for making these. Hubbie loves these so much he asked me to make them for Valentines Day along with pulled pork.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger February 18, 2016 at 10:51 am #

      You are so lucky to have all those great veggies at your disposal! These are some of our favorite ways to eat potatoes now. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • weebluemixer February 18, 2016 at 11:52 am #

        I know I love having veg straight from the field covered in mud! I really grudge having to buy veg from the supermarket when we have none left in the summer.

        Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beef Tenderloin with Porcini and Pepper Sauce | anotherfoodieblogger - July 23, 2016

    […] pictures are my own on this page, but his photos are a feast for the eyes! I served this with my Smashed Roasted Little Potatoes and asparagus. PLEASE do hop over to his site and read his witty writing, delightful photography, […]

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

