Fried Artichokes and Shrimp Pasta

2 Jul
Fried Artichokes and Shrimp Pasta

Fried Artichokes and Shrimp Pasta

What can I say? This dish is simply AH-MAZING! I am a huge fan of artichokes, but fried? And also jumbo shrimp? Shut the door and lock me in! When I saw this recipe over at Meals with Mel (please stop on by her site to check it out. Hi Melody!!) I knew I just had to make it and went on a mission to do just that. My only regret is adding only two cans of artichokes, as I do believe I ate at least one can of said artichokes before they even met the shrimp and pasta.

While not something I’d indulge in often while watching the waistline, this is definitely a meal I will make again. My husband loved it too and wow Mel, thanks for the introduction to a plate of heaven!

Fried Artichokes and Shrimp Pasta
Adapted from same recipe at Meals with Mel

2 14-ounce cans artichoke hearts, quartered
1 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 handful thyme sprigs
1 clove garlic, peeled and smashed
1/2 pound jumbo shrimp (16/20 count)
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 large shallot, diced small (about 1/3 cup)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped and divided
2 teaspoons fresh spicy oregano, minced
1/8 cup capers plus 2 teaspoons of the brine
1 large lemon, halved
1/2 cup dry white wine
4 to 6 ounces dried Linguine
salt and ground black pepper, to taste
Pecorino Romano, grated, for serving

Drain the artichoke hearts until they are almost completely dry. I squished them down in the colander with paper towels then let them set for about a half hour, blotting with more paper towels periodically.

Artichokes and Thyme Ready to Fry

Artichokes and Thyme Ready to Fry

Arrange the artichoke hearts in a single layer in the bottom of a cast iron skillet or other heavy skillet. Pour just enough olive oil over the artichokes to cover them. I used a cup.

Toss in the smashed clove of garlic and thyme sprigs. Turn the heat on to medium-high and allow the artichoke hearts to fry for about 30 minutes.

Artichokes Halfway Through Frying

Artichokes Halfway Through Frying

After about 10 minutes gently move the artichokes around to make sure they don’t stick to the bottom. After about 20 minutes carefully turn the artichoke hearts over to ensure even browning. After 30 minutes they should be golden brown, but don’t let them burn.

Remove the artichokes from the skillet and transfer to a paper towel-line plate. Lightly salt the hot fried artichoke hearts. Set aside and try not to eat them all. Trust me.

Fried Artichokes

Fried Artichokes ~ Maybe I should have moved them further away from my work space

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and cook to your preference according to package directions. Remove a cup or two of the cooking water and reserve, then drain the pasta

In another large skillet add about 2 tablespoons of the artichoke “frying” oil and a tablespoon of butter. Add the shallot and cook over medium heat until tender, about four minutes. Add in the garlic, red pepper flakes, oregano, capers and brine, half the chopped parsley, and the juice and zest of half the lemon. Season with a little salt and lots of ground black pepper, to taste. Cook for two minutes until fragrant, then add the white wine and reduce by half.

Cooking the Jumbo Shrimp

Cooking the Jumbo Shrimp

Add the shrimp and cook just until the shrimp turn pink, just a couple minutes per side. Add the cooked pasta to the skillet with the shrimp and fried artichokes and toss to combine. Loosen the pasta with the reserved cooking water.

Fried Artichokes and Shrimp Pasta

Fried Artichokes and Shrimp Pasta

Pour the skillet contents into large serving bowl and toss with the remaining parsley, the other lemon half squeezed, and a little fresh grated Pecorino Romano or other high-quality hard cheese. This is dinner-guest worthy! Enjoy!

P.S. I have been super busy the past few days getting our house and patio ready for a 4th of July party. I hope you all have a safe, memorable and enjoyable holiday weekend!

Fried Artichokes and Shrimp Pasta

Fried Artichokes and Shrimp Pasta

Download and Print this Recipe

Download and Print this Yummy Recipe!

76 Responses to “Fried Artichokes and Shrimp Pasta”

  1. healthyindiankitchen July 2, 2016 at 10:44 am #

    This looks sooo good! I love shrimp pasta. Never tried it with artichokes though! I have to give this a shot! Thanks for the recipe:) This for sure is good stuff 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ggstratton July 2, 2016 at 11:02 am #

    Wow. That Looks Incredible!! Next time just make more artichokes for yourself. I would have eaten a few of them myself. Enjoy your party!😊🇺🇸🎉🍤🍴

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gerlinde @ Sunnycovechef July 2, 2016 at 12:22 pm #

    I love the idea of frying the artichoke hearts. I wonder if you could use frozen artichoke hearts? I think I saw them at Trader Joe’s .

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger July 2, 2016 at 12:39 pm #

      I am sure you could use frozen, just thaw them out and dry them really good as indicated. Thanks Gerlinde!

      Like

  4. Teagan Geneviene July 2, 2016 at 12:48 pm #

    Never in a million years would I have thought of fried artichokes… But now that I’ve imagined it — OMG! I was wondering what to fix for dinner. You have another winner Kathryn. Mega hugs! (Shared at Pinterest and LinkedIn, and beBee.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger July 2, 2016 at 12:54 pm #

      Oh you are SO SWEET to share Teagan, thank you! Fried artichokes are simply amazing, they really are. Happy 4th of July! xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jodi July 2, 2016 at 1:01 pm #

    Oooh yummmm. And that last photo! Wow!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bernadette July 2, 2016 at 1:32 pm #

    We must be sisters separated at birth – I absolutely crave shrimp and artichokes at time. Can’t wait to make this dish. Happy weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. fromthefamilytable July 2, 2016 at 3:14 pm #

    Two of my favorite ingredients. And, your images are outstanding.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. noelleg44 July 2, 2016 at 3:42 pm #

    This looks and sounds fabulous! I’ve got to try this – you seem to choose things I love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger July 2, 2016 at 3:45 pm #

      I am so happy you like this so much, thank you! You know, I guess I’m just at the age where I want to make and eat what I really like.

      Like

  9. Cheryl "Cheffie Cooks" Wiser July 2, 2016 at 4:12 pm #

    Oh Yum!!! xxxooo ccc

    Like

  10. Michelle Williams July 2, 2016 at 4:25 pm #

    Yes! Wow. Delicious. Thank you. Happy 4th of July weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Adam J. Holland July 2, 2016 at 4:57 pm #

    Damn! I used canned and/or marinated artichoke hearts at least once a week. And I’m the guy who thinks ‘fried is a food group.’ Why am I only seeing this now? — Either way, bless you and Mel! This looks outstanding.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger July 2, 2016 at 5:12 pm #

      Thanks so much Adam, lol! You should really make this, you’ll be highly impressed with the flavors, for real. p.s. make an extra can for yourself. 😉

      Like

  12. 1jaded1 July 2, 2016 at 5:23 pm #

    That looks amazing. Never would have thought to fry artichokes. Very creative. Enjoy your holiday! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Tasty Eats Ronit Penso July 2, 2016 at 5:58 pm #

    Oh wow, what a tasty dish this looks. I love the fried artichokes in there! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger July 2, 2016 at 6:05 pm #

      Thanks so much Ronit! I was pretty blown away by the flavors of this. xo

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tasty Eats Ronit Penso July 2, 2016 at 6:10 pm #

        I had fried artichokes and loved them. The idea of adding the to the pasta with the shrimps is a great idea!
        A shame I can’t get decent artichokes this year. Would love to try this!

        Liked by 1 person

      • anotherfoodieblogger July 2, 2016 at 6:12 pm #

        Oh I used canned, but I am a bit lazy to prep and cook fresh ones but I am sure it would be way better. Fresh frozen would work too, though, I am sure.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Tasty Eats Ronit Penso July 2, 2016 at 6:13 pm #

        Will give it a try! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  14. D. Wallace Peach July 2, 2016 at 6:17 pm #

    I’m an artichoke fan too, Kathryn, and this does look amazing! I’m adding it to the shopping list! Yum 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Melody Procter July 2, 2016 at 8:42 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out Kathryn!! You version looks wonderful and your right 3 cans would be even better!! You can’t make too many fried artichokes!!
    Xoxoxo
    Melody

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Sumith Babu July 3, 2016 at 1:20 am #

    Fried artichokes!! Should be yummy!!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Freda @ Aromatic essence July 3, 2016 at 1:47 am #

    Oh please pass me that bowl of yummy goodness,Kathryn!!! Looks so inviting!!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. thefoodandwinehedonist July 3, 2016 at 6:41 am #

    Looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Sheryl July 3, 2016 at 7:44 am #

    This looks wonderful. The fried artichokes are an inspired addition to the shrimp pasta.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. StefanGourmet July 3, 2016 at 10:27 am #

    Thought this looked familiar! Guess I’ll have to try this now that both of you have raved about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger July 3, 2016 at 10:30 am #

      Fried artichokes are really ingenious. I don’t know who originally thought about frying them but they should get an award! I hope you get to try this some day, thanks Stefan!

      Liked by 1 person

      • StefanGourmet July 3, 2016 at 12:30 pm #

        Fried artichokes is a dish from Rome. I’ve never prepared it yet because there it is usually made with fresh artichokes, which would take too much time to clean and be too costly. I’ll have to see if I can find frozen ones.

        Liked by 1 person

      • anotherfoodieblogger July 3, 2016 at 12:41 pm #

        Yay for the Romans! I hope you can find some around there.

        Liked by 1 person

  21. White House Red Door July 3, 2016 at 12:34 pm #

    This looks absolutely delicious! I made french fries in a similar way during the cooking class I took in Paris- they went into room temperature oil, brought them to a boil, and fried them for about 20-30min. Frying artichokes the same way is brilliant! I can practically taste this dish!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Love Served Daily July 3, 2016 at 12:50 pm #

    Delicious

    Like

  23. Lynz Real Cooking July 4, 2016 at 7:23 am #

    This sure looks like one of those special meals! I love that you got it from another blogger! Thanks for sharing it with us KR! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Karina Pinella July 4, 2016 at 7:50 am #

    Wow! Thanks for a great meal idea for tonight! Can I use frozen artichokes?

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Smiling Notes July 4, 2016 at 1:12 pm #

    This sounds like a phenomenal recipe!! Sharing it on twitter 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  26. ChgoJohn July 4, 2016 at 7:50 pm #

    This is one heckuva pasta!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. FrugalHausfrau July 5, 2016 at 1:16 pm #

    Oh gosh does this look good!! I’d eat all the artichokes, heck, forgeddabout the shrimp, lol!! Thanks for sharing with us at Throwback Thursday!

    Mollie

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Karina Pinella July 5, 2016 at 10:38 pm #

    I made this for my daughter’s birthday last night and we loved it! I spent most of the evening in the kitchen, but that’s because I had to go grocery shopping for the ingredients, but I got my herbs from our garden. Mucho delicioso. Truly gourmet and restaurant equivalent (if not better). Thanks for the recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

  29. TheFirst365Days.com July 6, 2016 at 7:56 am #

    I LOVE your blog! What great pictures and the food all looks AMAZING. SO happy I found you! xo http://www.thefirst365days.com

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Sadie's Nest July 16, 2016 at 8:42 am #

    Wow! I’ve never tried that to artichokes… those look amazing. I bet this would work well with chicken too! Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

