Spinach, Mushroom, and Swiss Stuffed Chicken Breasts

18 Apr
Spinach, Mushroom, Swiss Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Spinach, Mushroom, and Swiss Stuffed Chicken Breasts

This was actually a fairly quick meal to make when I prepared it the other night, and for that I was thankful because I had it in my head it was an hour earlier when I went to actually cook it. My daughter’s piano lesson was moved to an hour later because of her school track practice, and when we got home I thought I had another hour to relax before starting dinner. However, several things I did made this fairly quick. I stuffed and rolled the chicken breasts during my lunch break, then put them in the fridge for later. Second, I kind of cheated on the breading and used a half packet of Shake and Bake I had on hand. Otherwise I probably would have made a homemade coating but just simply didn’t have the time when it came down to it. Lastly, I used 5-minute quick-cook herbed couscous and microwaved the asparagus instead of steaming or baking it. After all that, I had dinner on the table within 40 minutes, and the entire family thought it was delicious! I thought so too myself.

Prepping the Chicken

Prepping the Chicken

Spinach, Mushroom, and Swiss Stuffed Chicken

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 teaspoon butter
1/2 cup fresh mushrooms, chopped
1 green onion, sliced thin and chopped into 2-inch pieces
1 teaspoon minced garlic
Black pepper to taste
1 cup fresh baby spinach, chopped
2 slices of Swiss cheese, halved
1/2 packet of Shake and Bake coating, or any other breading

Butterfly the chicken breasts by cutting through the middle of them lengthwise, but don’t cut all the way through. Lay the chicken down flat on a cutting board and cover with plastic wrap. Pound the chicken with a meat mallet until about 1/4-inch thick. In a skillet, add the butter, mushrooms, green onion, garlic, and pepper. Sauté on medium heat for about five to seven minutes. Add the chopped spinach and stir until wilted, just a minute more or so.  Lay the slices of Swiss cheese down one side of each chicken breast, and spoon half the spinach mixture over each. Fold the other half of the chicken over that then secure with toothpicks. Dredge the stuffed chicken in the breading until fully coated. Bake in a preheated 375-degree oven for 35-40 minutes until done. About 10 minutes before the chicken was done I made the herbed couscous and asparagus, and we all sat down to eat at a decent hour!

4 Responses to “Spinach, Mushroom, and Swiss Stuffed Chicken Breasts”

  1. Sheila April 18, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    I’m so glad you posted this. I’ve been wanting a recipe like this and to see how it’s done. Now all I need a big sale on chicken breasts since I only have one left.

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger April 18, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

      Hi She-She! Just cut the recipe in half, we were able to feed three of use on the two, because after I took the pic we cut the breasts in half and took only one-half each, it was more than enough. However, they were pretty large chicken breasts…

      Like

  2. Denese July 28, 2014 at 1:14 pm #

    This recipe looks great. I was wondering what other type of cheese would go well with this. Im not a huge fan of swiss, and would actuallyprefer a more melty cheese

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger July 28, 2014 at 9:43 pm #

      I have been out of town so sorry for the late reply. I think Monterrey Jack cheese would be an excellent substitute! That cheese melts beautifully and is not overpowering.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below