Lemon Poppy Seed Angel Food Cake with Strawberries

9 May
Lemon Poppy Seed Angel Food Cake with Strawberries

Lemon Poppy Seed Angel Food Cake with Strawberries

I have mentioned many times now that I am not the baker in the house. That title belongs to my daughter, who revels in the messy process of sifting, mixing, rolling, baking, and decorating. We had some 3-2-1 cake mix in left in our house which is made much more to my speed of cooking. Mix a box of angel food cake dry mix along with the dry mix from any other flavor cake or muffin. You put 3 tablespoons of the cake mix in a mug or bowl, add 2 tablespoons of water, and microwave for 1 minute. Hence, the 3-2-1! You can put a surprise chocolate or something in the middle before microwaving, and top with whipped cream or anything else after it has cooled enough to eat.

Mini-cakes Cooling

Mini-cakes Cooling

This 3-2-1 cake mix makes enough for an army, and my daughter really wanted to make some angel food cake to go with some fresh strawberries we had just bought. I told her the only angel food cake we had was mixed with lemon poppy seed. So then she wanted to make angel food cake from scratch. Well we only had six eggs in the house, and it would have used them all up and I needed an egg for dinner or something and nixed that idea. So we found a solution. We took the rest of the 3-2-1 cake mix and decided to bake it in the oven. I completely guessed on the ingredients and amounts, but the result came out fabulous! I also think my daughter did a great job of decorating the little cake for my presentation picture. Great Job!

Lemon Poppy Seed Angel Food Cake with Strawberries

1/2 box dry angel food cake mix
1/2 box dry lemon poppy seed muffin mix
3/4 cup milk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
Powdered sugar
Fresh strawberries

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a large bowl, mix 1/2 box angel food cake mix and 1/2 box of lemon poppy seed muffin mix. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well with an electric beater.  Pour even amounts into four ramekins and bake for 25 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Remove from oven and let cool. Top with powdered sugar and fresh strawberries, and whipped cream if you have some.

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below