Texas Chicken-Fried Steak with all the Fixin’s

17 Feb
Chicken Fried Steak with all the Fixin's

Chicken Fried Steak with all the Fixin’s

We are hosting a foreign exchange student (Caroline) from France for three weeks, so my blogging has been (and will be) a bit spotty as we try to entertain her and introduce her to the “American” style of living. And part of that experience includes food, of course! So far I’ve made crock-pot beef stew (which I have yet to ever blog about), my Garlicky Parmesan Chicken Tenders, and my hubby made her Huevos Motuleños. She’s also experienced the All-American hot dog and fries (Nathan’s All-Beef Jumbo, of course).

But the grand-daddy of an All-American meal (in my book) is good old-fashioned Texas Chicken-Fried Steak with all the fixin’s. (Meaning, mashed potatoes, peppery cream gravy, and green beans.) I posted my recipe for this over two years ago, then reblogged it later but never took a new photo, so figured it was a good time to dust it off, upgrade the photos and add a little more detail to the ingredients and steps. And the bonus to this is I instructed Caroline on how to make all this and she did it all herself (with some guided supervision). She did great! And we all cleaned up our plates and she absolutely loved this meal. I think you would too! I’ve included quite a few photos with this one, as it was fun being able to photograph someone else doing the work. 🙂

Chicken-Fried Steak with all the Fixin’s

4 to 6 russet potatoes, 3 tablespoons butter, and milk as needed
4 to 6 cubed steaks, or round steaks, tenderized
3/4 cup flour
Generous amounts of ground black pepper
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon paprika
Salt, to taste
2 eggs with splash of milk
1 1/2 cups milk
Reserved flour (about 2 tablespoons)
Vegetable oil for skillet
Fresh green beans

First peel those potatoes and get them boiling in a pot of water and cook for about 20 minutes. Go off and do something else during this time.

Peeling the Potatoes

Peeling the Potatoes

When you get back from whatever you just did, keep the potatoes boiling. Mix together the flour and the seasonings to taste on a plate. I had Caroline add a lot of black pepper. Beat the eggs with the milk in a bowl.

Preparing Egg and Milk Wash

Preparing Egg and Milk Wash

Whisking the Eggs and Milk

Whisking the Eggs and Milk

Dredge the steaks in the flour mixture until coated, then dip in the egg mixture to coat. Dredge the steaks once again in the flour until coated well  (your fingers will get nice and clumpy at this part) and set aside on another plate or rack. Reserve the extra flour mixture for the gravy.

Dredging the Cubed Steaks

Dredging the Cubed Steaks

Check your potatoes at this point, and if done, go ahead and drain them, return to pot and whip them up with the butter and enough milk to make them creamy. Cover and put over lowest heat setting possible.

Double-Dredged Cubed Steaks

Double-Dredged Cubed Steaks

Whipping the Potatoes

Whipping the Potatoes

Next, heat about an eighth- to quarter-inch of oil in a heavy skillet over medium-high heat, preferably cast iron, until hot, but not smoking. I used two cast iron skillets so we could cook six steaks all at once, but you could also do this in batches in one skillet. Very carefully set each steak in the hot oil with a spatula.

Let the steaks sizzle in the oil for about four or five minutes, until you see red juice bubbling out of the top. Carefully slide the spatula under each steak and gently flip them over. Fry for about another five minutes until crispy brown, turning down heat if needed to prevent burning. Remove the steaks from the skillet and drain on paper towels. Turn heat off of skillet. This is a good time to start cooking your green beans, too, however you prefer to make them.

Frying the Cubed Steaks

Frying the Cubed Steaks

For the cream gravy, pour all but about two tablespoons of oil out of the skillet (or one of them if using two) and make sure the crispy bits stay in the pan. Add the reserved seasoned flour into a jar, then add the milk. Cover, and shake, shake, shake that baby until all the flour is completely incorporated.

Adding Milk to Flour for Gravy

Adding Milk to Flour for Gravy

Turn the heat back on to medium high under the skillet with the oil, then slowly add the milk, whisking constantly, until the gravy starts to thicken. Add lots and lots of more pepper at this point, and salt to taste. Continue whisking until the gravy is the consistency you want, adding more milk or water if it gets too thick.

Whisking the Cream Gravy

Whisking the Cream Gravy

Put the chicken fried steaks on each plate, pour a generous amount of cream gravy over them, and serve with mashed potatoes and more cream gravy, and fresh steamed green beans with butter (or vegetable of choice). Crazy Texas Good!

Chicken Fried Steak with all the Fixin's

Chicken Fried Steak with all the Fixin’s

Download and Print this Recipe

Download and Print this Yummy Recipe!

7 Responses to “Texas Chicken-Fried Steak with all the Fixin’s”

  1. Conor Bofin February 17, 2014 at 12:39 pm #

    Pretty fine Texas cuisine indeed. I spent my Sunday improving the Colonel Saunders spice mix and doing a healthier version. I was pleased with the outcome. Yours looks very tasty.

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger February 17, 2014 at 5:02 pm #

      Conor, I would love to get the recipe for a healthier version of KFC! I do hope you post a blog about it! And thank you!

      Like

  2. FrugalHausfrau June 28, 2016 at 8:01 am #

    You just posted my all time fave meal! If I’m ever on death row, this is exactly what I’ll request, lol!!

    Thanks for sharing with us at Throwback Thursday!

    Mollie

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger June 28, 2016 at 6:02 pm #

      LOL I think it really is one of my all-time fave meals too, and God forbid I ever up on death row I do believe it would be my last request. 😀

      Like

      • FrugalHausfrau June 28, 2016 at 7:45 pm #

        You might have guessed I can have a twisted sense of humor…I’m wondering if I know anyone who needs to be “done-in” so I can get my chicken fried steak!! Easier just to make it, I guess!! haha!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • anotherfoodieblogger June 28, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

        LOLOL you crack me up! Good Lord, I’d make this at least twice a week if my belly/fat ratio could handle it, LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

      • FrugalHausfrau June 28, 2016 at 8:20 pm #

        Me too!!! *G*

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below