Mini Liebster Award!

28 Apr
Liebster Award

Liebster Award

I have a new foodie blogger that I’ve started following and reading her recipes. I have really enjoyed her take on food and she’s just cool as afar as I’m concerned! She nominated me for a Liebster Award, which is typically given to new bloggers looking for more readers and audience. Since I’m on my fourth year of foodie blogging (albeit my readership isn’t that high), I’ve always just maintained my blog for recording my recipes for future use (and hopefully for my daughter soon to be in college!) and also for my sanity. I like to cook and write, what can I say?

That being said, I felt I couldn’t pass on paying it forward for her! So here is my super-duper Mini-Liebster award to…. My Little Rock! She gave me 11 questions to answer, and she even wrote me and said she would loved to have me answer these over coffee with her. I am honored! However, I am breaking almost every rule for this, but I AM answering her questions and posting the logo, so please forgive me! I hope I can direct a LOT of new readers to her site, though!

Here are her questions and my answers:

1. Why / how did you choose the name of your blog?

One day, I just decided I wanted to write a blog about food and cooking. Don’t ask me why, it just popped into my head. And I was thinking of a name for a food blog site and I thought “Oh my GAWD, I’m just going to be ANOTHER FOODIE BLOGGER out there with the millions of them.” Amazingly, the blog site name was not taken.

2. What’s your favourite dish to eat?

My favorite dish to eat is homemade egg drop noodle soup. Sometimes with spinach or mushrooms, both, or whatever veggies I have on hand. It’s my comfort food when I’m either feeling in the dumps or sick. If you are talking serious comfort food that I don’t have to cook, I love me some KFC mashed potatoes and gravy with a ton of pepper on it.

3. What’s your favourite dish to cook?

I just love to cook homemade chicken stock with leftover chicken carcasses and bones. You can find me making that on a monthly basis. I love the way it makes the house smell, and I love that I always have fresh chicken broth in the freezer handy for soups, stews or whatever else I’m cooking!

4. Why did you start a food blog?

I kind of referred to it in the intro here, but it just popped into my mind to do it. HOWEVER, part of that popping into my mind had to do with the fact that I wanted not only an easy place to refer back to my often-used recipes instead of digging through my cookbooks, but also so that my daughter who will be going to college soon would not have to call me every time she wanted to cook “that great chicken dish” you always made, or whatever. 🙂

5. How much time does it take in total to put a recipe online? This includes the cooking, photographing, writing, uploading etc.

Before I started taking multiple quality photos with a good DSLR camera and also PDF-ing the recipes for a printable one, it would take me anywhere from 20 to 45 minutes for the posting time. Now that I edit my high-quality photos and do that dang PDF thing, it takes me about an hour to two hours. Obviously you would have to add the cooking time to that depending on the recipe made.

6. What type of camera are you using to take photos for your blog?

I use a DSLR Canon EOS Rebel T2I.

7. What’s the worst cooking disaster you’ve ever had?

What, you want me to pick one? The one that pissed me off the most was when I cooked a huge batch of chicken broth for over four hours, then went to pour it through the strainer but forgot to put a pot under the strainer in the sink. Down the drain it went. OH NO!

8. How long have you had your cooking blog?

I am four months into my fourth year!

9. Who’s your favourite cook / chef?

I really like The Pioneer Woman (real home cooking), Lemony Thyme (just awesome food all the way around!) and The Homesick Texan just because she’s from my home state of Texas and her recipes and photos ROCK! But she’s been off writing a new book or on tour lately, but she has two excellent recipe books printed already.  Please check all three out. (In addition to checking out My Little Rock, shameless plug for you!)

 10. What’s your favourite cooking TV program?

Good question. I don’t watch any of the modern cooking shows anymore. Either they are just stupid reality shows in prime time with mean judges, or the good ones I can’t watch anymore during the daytime since I hold down a more than full-time job. But if you asked me this about 15 or 20 years ago I would have said Yan Can Cook and The Frugal Gourmet. (Dating myself!)  😉 Rachel Ray isn’t that bad though, I have seen some of her shows. There was some Italian cook show I used to watch but I can’t remember the name of her.

11. If you could give one piece of advise to another food blogger what would it be?

Make your recipes printable, take really good photos and lead the recipe with your best photo, and don’t make the photos so dinky on your page. The photos “sell” the food, really! Also, don’t be afraid to find your “voice.” So many recipes I’ve read from food bloggers just have a couple of sentences up front about maybe the history of the food (or no lead in at all) but don’t draw you into why YOU should make the food and would want to!

____________________________________________________

OK that’s it! Once again, go over to My Little Rock and give her a little loving and a like! 🙂

 

10 Responses to “Mini Liebster Award!”

  1. My Little ROCK April 29, 2015 at 1:09 am #

    OMG! That’s awesome!!!!! I was trying to promote and praise you but you’ve just done it back to me tenfold!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. teagan geneviene April 29, 2015 at 4:59 am #

    Well done, KR. You put a lot of work into this blog. But i do love your recipes! Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michelle Williams April 29, 2015 at 11:26 am #

    Awesome! Great to know your inspirations and more about you! Congrats on the nomination!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tinywhitecottage April 29, 2015 at 12:12 pm #

    Nice. It was great reading a little about you! I actually gasped when I read you accidentally poured your chicken broth down the sink. I’m headed over to check out My Little Rock. 🙂 Congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gerlinde@sunnycovechef April 30, 2015 at 12:39 am #

    I love all your comments and all the work and effort you are putting into this blog. Great job and hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger April 30, 2015 at 5:41 pm #

      Thank you so much Gerlinde! I love your blog too, the recipes and all your work too. Great job!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below

