All Work and No Play?

25 May
Stellar Jay

Stellar Jay

Hi foodie friends! I don’t want you to think I dropped off the face of the planet. We were gone for a week to our RV river property on the Oregon Coast with no cell service or interwebz. I didn’t give a heads up since I have quite a few more readers on board since I started my blog over four years ago — one can never be too safe!

My husband did the majority of “work” on the property to get it ready for the upcoming fishing and crabbing season, but we had plenty of relaxing time, including a trip to the Tillamook Cheese Factory and then to scope out a new store/exhibit in Lincoln City called “Prehistoric.” I got to touch dinosaur bones 165 million years old! I’m a kid at heart.

Prehistoric in Lincoln City <— click here for a video about it.

All is well in foodie land, I plan on posting a new recipe next week. Here’s a couple of photos from the trip to tide you over. 🙂

Pushing dock into the river

Husband and neighbor pushing dock into the river ~ it floods every year so we pull it out.

Here’s what we hope to be pulling out of the Siletz Bay in a couple of months! This is me with part of last year’s catch!

Kathryn and Dungeness Crab

Kathryn and Dungeness Crab

15 Responses to “All Work and No Play?”

  1. teagan geneviene May 26, 2015 at 2:52 am #

    KR this is an awesome post! I’m so glad you gave us this little look into that part of your life. And such a beautiful setting too. Try not to work too hard. 😀 Mega-hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MealsWithMel May 26, 2015 at 5:13 am #

    Looks like a beautiful place to “escape” from it all :). Plus you get to stock up on all those wonderful crabs I’m envious . And you touched a Dinosaur bone 🙂 sounds like you are having a great time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michelle Williams May 26, 2015 at 6:57 am #

    Good for you! Looks like a great week away!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gerlinde@ Sunnycovechef May 26, 2015 at 8:16 am #

    This looks like a great place to be. Have fun and enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. annasdiabetes May 26, 2015 at 9:35 am #

    Welcome back! I can’t imagine living without cell service or the internet

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger May 26, 2015 at 1:55 pm #

      Since I work on a computer all day for my day job and blog at night or weekends, the break from it all was certainly livable. 🙂

      Like

  6. tinywhitecottage May 26, 2015 at 1:03 pm #

    Wow! Looks like a gorgeous place. Glad to see your post today! Welcome back…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Runaway Nuns and Leprechauns June 4, 2015 at 11:09 pm #

    Those crabs look awesome! Is there a limit on the number you can catch or is there a size limi?

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below