Spinach and Artichoke Stuffed Tomatoes

10 Jul
Artichoke and Spinach Stuffed Tomatoes

Spinach and Artichoke Stuffed Tomatoes

The first of our cherry tomatoes have ripened on one of our plants! I do believe this is a record for us, to have some ripe tomatoes in early July. So I was flying solo last night (hubby is out of town overnight and the daughter left for a four day camping trip too) so I decided to whip up something “just for me” using three of our ripe wee tomatoes, plus one organic tomato hanging out on the counter.

Ripe Cherry Tomatoes

Ripe Cherry Tomatoes

I scrummaged through the fridge and pantry to see what I could concoct out of these beauties. I found a lonely Laughing Cow Garlic and Herb Cheese wedge, a bag of spinach I brought on our camping trip last week and in dire need of using up, a half lemon, and a can of quartered artichoke hearts. OK. So it’s only me. I can do this. I will use part of the spinach and open a can for one artichoke heart quarter, but I promised myself I’ll make something out of the rest when the fam gets home.

Tomatoes Spinach and Artichokes, et. al.

Tomatoes, Spinach, and Artichokes, et. al.

I seriously just made this up on the fly. I’d briefly googled some recipes with a few of the ingredients, but nothing really popped out at me so decided just to throw some stuff together and see what happened. I ended up using twice the amount of spinach in my photo, as I still haven’t mastered the art of how much fresh spinach reduces but I have the correct amount below for one serving.  Since this is only a recipe for one, feel free to double, triple, or quadruple the amount! Oh, and yes, this was divine. Very decadent, just the right amount of spice, herbs and all over yumminess. I so enjoyed popping those stuffed cherry tomatoes just out of the oven into my mouth with the creamy spinach filling. I can’t wait until we have more tomatoes for more great recipes!

Spinach and Artichoke Stuffed Tomatoes

1 small tomato plus three cherry tomatoes
Spray or splash of olive oil
2 large handfuls of fresh spinach, chopped
1/4 artichoke heart, chopped small
1 wedge Laughing Cow Garlic and Herb cheese (you can sub with some cream cheese with fresh herbs mixed in)
1 lemon wedge, squeezed
1 tablespoon sour cream
1 wee pinch of crushed red pepper flakes
Shredded Parmesan or Mozzarella cheese for topping
Bed of fresh spinach

Cut off a small slice off the top of the tomatoes, then core them. So what did I do with the centers and seeds? I ATE them! I simply could not throw out the centers of my first cherry tomatoes and a lovely organic one. Yumm. Nothing wrong with eating the centers of tomatoes, I can tell you that.

In a skillet over medium heat, spray some olive oil and add the spinach, artichoke hearts, cream cheese, lemon juice, sour cream, and crushed red pepper flakes. Stir around and smoosh around until spinach is wilted and cheeses have melted. The sour cream was a last minute addition as the one small wedge of cream cheese just didn’t cut it. Remove from heat, then stuff the cored tomatoes. Eat any amount that doesn’t fit in the centers, OK? Now top the tomatoes with shredded Parmesan or Mozzarella cheese. I was out of Parmesan and would have preferred that but the Mozzarella was a good sub.

Place the tomatoes in a foil lined pan under the broiler for about  five minutes until the cheese starts to melt and brown. Remove from pan with tongs and serve over a bed of fresh spinach. Chow time!

Cored Tomato and Juices

Cored Tomato and Juices ~ Eat all the centers of them!

4 Responses to “Spinach and Artichoke Stuffed Tomatoes”

  1. diana July 10, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    I LOVE it that you have tomatoes! (that’s a sign of things to come a few miles East of you) And next year, yum!!
    I wanted to run this buy you; Last night I made some spaghetti, and wanting to Incorporate more veggies in Bill’s heart healthy diet, I used some spinach. I made the sauce, and got the water boiling for noodles. Before I put the noodles in, I added 1/2 bag of spinach, cooked the noodles 8 minutes, drained, and put them in the sauce. The spinach didn’t add any flavor, (that’s what I had hoped for) and when Jon asked what was the green stuff, I told him it was green spaghetti! It really needed a whole bag, cuz like you, I’m not sure how much spinach wilts into nothingness! But it was good, different, more veggies!

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger July 10, 2013 at 9:28 am #

      Hi Diana, thank you for the comment. My guess is that you boiled all the flavor out of the spinach. What I suggest to try next time is to go ahead and cook the pasta and reserve some of the water. Then add the fresh spinach to the noodles with a small amount of the hot water to wilt it. Then you can add your pasta sauce. It really doesn’t take much to wilt the spinach.

      I bet you can’t wait for next year’s growing season!

      Like

  2. yourperfectburn January 15, 2014 at 9:17 am #

    I love stuffed tomatoes of all kinds, I the last one I did had tuna and cheese for a sort of tuna tomato melt. I will be trying your recipe in the near future.

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 15, 2014 at 5:04 pm #

      A tuna melt one would be delicious! Now I just need to wait for tomato season this year to try that out.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below