Perfect Potato Salad

12 Oct
Perfect Potato Salad

Perfect Potato Salad

This is a recipe that my husband adapted over the years from my 1981 Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook. He is the one that usually makes this to take to potlucks or to serve with his awesome barbecued pork ribs, but this weekend I offered to take the helm and cook them myself. (I still let him cook the ribs, he is the BBQ King in this household.)

Fall is in the air, and this was potentially our last grilled meal for the season. At this time of year, the snow can fly at any time. But today was a beautiful, sunny fall day with just a hint of crispness in the air. It was a perfect day for this Perfect Potato Salad!

Perfect Potato Salad
Adapted from Creamy Potato Salad, 1981 Better Homes and Garden Cookbook

5 to 6 medium potatoes, peeled
2 tablespoons vinegar
2 teaspoons celery seed
2 teaspoons mustard seed
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 cup diced celery
1/2 cup diced onion
1 1/4 cups mayonnaise
Mrs. Dash, or salt, to taste
Ground black pepper, to taste
2 hard-boiled eggs, sliced thin
Snipped chives (optional garnish)

Cook the potatoes in boiling salted water for about 30 minutes until you can pierce with a fork, but don’t let them get mushy! You want the potatoes slightly firm. Rinse under cold water, drain, then add to a large bowl. Cover and refrigerate for several hours up to overnight.

Cold Chilled Potatoes Ready to Chop

Cold Chilled Potatoes Ready to Chop

Meanwhile, hard boil the eggs until done, about 15 minutes. Dunk in cold water, then refrigerate for several hours up to overnight.

Vinegar Mixture and Chopped Potatoes

Vinegar Mixture and Chopped Potatoes

In a small bowl, combine the vinegar, celery and mustard seed, and sugar. Cover and refrigerate for several hours up to overnight. I prepped the potatoes, eggs, and vinegar mixture the day before.

Potato Salad Ingredients Ready to Combine

Potato Salad Ingredients Ready to Combine

A few hours before serving, chop the potatoes into bite-sized pieces and add back to the large bowl with the chopped celery and onion. Stir in the mayo to the vinegar mixture then toss with the potatoes lightly to coat, then season with Mrs. Dash or salt and ground pepper to taste, Arrange sliced eggs over top and garnish with snipped chives. Cover and chill thoroughly.

p.s. No, this is not the kitchen from my other house. The condo kitchen happens to have the same color granite as our rental kitchen did!

Download and Print this Recipe

Download and Print this Yummy Recipe!

8 Responses to “Perfect Potato Salad”

  1. Gerlinde October 12, 2014 at 3:56 pm #

    There are so many recipes for potato salad but yours looks very good. I wish I had some right now because I’m hungry. When I go to Germany I have to get my moms recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. anotherfoodieblogger October 12, 2014 at 4:26 pm #

    Thank you Gerlinde! I like the fact that my husband uses mustard seeds instead of prepared mustard. Plus the seeds give a pleasing “pop” in your mouth when you bite into them. I hope you can find your mom’s recipe! 🙂

    Like

  3. Michael's Woodcraft October 12, 2014 at 6:07 pm #

    Looks delicious, love the sliced eggs on top! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 12, 2014 at 6:42 pm #

      Thanks Michael! Looks like you’ve been enjoying some baseball lately. 🙂

      Like

  4. tinywhitecottage October 13, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

    Oooo, I like this recipe. I have been making the same potato salad (my mom’s recipe) for years. I like the idea of vinegar and mustard seed in the mix. Everything else is very similar to my mom’s…I love potato salad. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 13, 2014 at 7:24 pm #

      I think I’ve liked most potato salad recipes I’ve tried. The only ones I haven’t were ones too heavy on the mustard. Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  5. gannonham October 19, 2014 at 9:34 am #

    This sounds yummy, I’ll have to give it a try! Here’s one of my favourite potato salad recipes: http://sweetseatstreats.wordpress.com/2014/10/19/loaded-baked-potato-salad/

    Liked by 1 person

    • anotherfoodieblogger October 19, 2014 at 10:58 am #

      Oh my! That looks absolutely decadent and delicious! I’ll have to try that sometime. Thank you for your comment and the link. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below