Texas Chicken Fried Steak, as Promised

26 Jan

Chicken Fried Steak with Cream Gravy, Yumm!

Amazingly, my daughter announced last night she would be glad to help make dinner tonight. My plan was to teach her how to make some good old-fashioned chicken fried steak with cream gravy, mashed potatoes, and green beans. I even bought some cubed steaks a couple of days ago because I was craving some good Texas food.  (I haven’t tenderized a round steak in years for this. It doesn’t help that the head of my cheap wooden tenderizer flies off every time I use it. My mom has this fantastic solid metal one, which I’m sure she got from her mother.)

The recipe came from my mind, because any true Texan just “knows” how to make it. Since my daughter was born and raised in Oregon, I guess this osmosis effect never transferred this particular ability to her. Unfortunately, when I told her it was time to make dinner, her idea of “helping” to make dinner was to peel the potatoes and put them in the pot to boil. I practically had to force her to watch me bread the steaks, and off she went on her iPod Touch to chat with her friends. No matter, she’ll come around eventually.  This recipe is for two, but it is easily multiplied. This is an “eyeball” recipe, as amounts really depend on how many steaks you are cooking and how much gravy you want to go with them.

Chicken Fried Steak with Cream Gravy

2 cubed steaks, or round steaks tenderized
Flour
Black pepper
Cayenne pepper
Paprika
Salt to taste
1 egg
Milk
Oil for skillet

On a plate or in a bowl, mix together about a half cup of flour and the seasonings to taste. I liberally add a lot of black pepper. Since my no-salt hubby is gone, I added a little bit of salt tonight! Beat the egg with some milk in a bowl. Dredge the steaks in the flour mixture until coated, then dip in the egg mixture to coat. Dredge the steaks once again in the flour until coated well  (your fingers will get nice and clumpy at this part) and set aside on another plate. Reserve the extra flour mixture for the gravy. Heat about a quarter- to half-inch of oil in a heavy skillet, preferably cast iron, until hot, but not smoking. Very carefully set each steak in the hot oil with a spatula.  It will splatter, so watch out!

Let the steaks sizzle in the oil for about four or five minutes, until you see red juice bubbling out of the top. Carefully slide the spatula under each steak and gently flip them over. Fry for about another five minutes until crispy brown. Remove the steaks from the skillet and drain on paper towels.

Sizzling Steaks

For the cream gravy, pour all but about two tablespoons of oil out of the skillet and make sure the crispy bits stay in the pan. Add about two tablespoons of the reserved flour mixture to the skillet and stir and mash it down to remove lumps until just starting to brown. Slowly add about a cup of milk, stirring constantly, until the gravy starts to thicken. Add lots and lots of more pepper at this point, and salt to taste. Continue stirring until the gravy is the consistency you want, adding more milk or water if it gets too thick.

Put the chicken fried steaks on each plate, pour a generous amount of cream gravy over them, and serve with mashed potatoes and more cream gravy, and a vegetable of choice. I’ve always enjoyed green beans with this meal. Now that’s a taste of Texas, isn’t it?

8 Responses to “Texas Chicken Fried Steak, as Promised”

  1. Cathy January 26, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    Now that’s good old fashioned comfort food!

    Like

  2. Susan Shepler Blum January 26, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    This has put me over the edge. I’m drving up from San Diego (who needs the sun anyway) and pitching my tent in your yard, then showing up for meal time. I’ll even bring the new dishware! Love, Susan 😉

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 26, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

      Hey, we’ve had a spell of wet weather, but the East side of the Cascades averages only 8 inches of precipitation a year! (This year might be boosting that average a bit…) Come and visit any time Susan, with or without dishware. Still hoping to hit the thrift stores this weekend!

      Like

  3. Becky January 27, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    My Mom made something like this when I was a growing up. And I still make it! But I use garlic powder and season salt, and LOTS of pepper too!
    You are doing a great job Kathryn! I may not comment everyday, but I read your blog!

    Like

  4. Jan Lipert January 27, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    OMG, I have to make this – it looks out of this world! Thanks!

    Like

    • anotherfoodieblogger January 27, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      This is a true Southern dish you won’t regret eating! Really Jan. Explore beyond the first parallel, lol! 😉

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Reply below